Hockey Canada B.C. Hockey Hockey Alberta Saskatchewan Hockey Association Hockey Manitoba Hockey Northwestern Ontario Ontario Hockey Federation Hockey Eastern Ontario Hockey Quebec Hockey New Brunswick Hockey P.E.I. Hockey Nova Scotia Hockey Newfoundland Hockey North


Hockey Manitoba would like to recognize regional award winners for Most Promising, Most Deserving and Most Improved Officials. Without our on-ice officials, quite simply, we do not have a game. Officials at all ages and levels of hockey work tirelessly to ensure our game is safe, fair and played within the rules.

Hockey Manitoba’s regional award winners are proudly sponsored by the Manitoba Hockey Hall of Fame.

Award Biographies

The following are biographies of the actual people whom the awards are named.


Richard “Dick” Davis – Inducted into the Manitoba Hockey Hall of Fame on March 28, 1992 as a referee. Born October 26, 1902 in Lachine, Quebec. After a fine amateur hockey career, Dick began his officiating career in Winnipeg in the 1930’s with local leagues. He rapidly advanced to the junior, senior, and intermediate leagues both locally and to their national championships. His career also included refereeing in the United States Hockey League, the Pacific Coast Hockey League and the Western Hockey League. He refereed more Memorial and Allan Cup play-down games than all but a select few other referees did. He retired in 1962 for health reasons. Dick Davis died March 20, 1970.


Lorne “Windy” Lyndon – Inducted into the Manitoba Hockey Hall of Fame on May 6, 1989 as a referee. Born March 7, 1907 in Dunrae, Manitoba. Lorne was one of Canada’s most renowned officials for 20 years, 1933-1953. He officiated Allan Cup finals in 1936, 1937, 1946, 1947, 1949, 1953; Memorial Cup finals 1950-1952 and the Alexander Cup in 1951. As a player he was a member of Winnipeg’s 1932 World champions and Allan Cup winner in 1931. Lorne was an all around athlete and was on an all star soccer team chosen to play against England touring side in 1931. Only the famous Winnipeg toilers bested his Westbrook basketball team three years running. Lorne Lyndon died May 9, 1965.


Victor “Vic” Lindquist – Inducted into the Manitoba Hockey Hall of Fame in 1997 as a player. Vic Lindquist was born on March 22, 1908 in Gold Rock, Ontario, Canada. He played his minor and junior ice hockey career in Kenora, Ontario and later joined senior the Winnipeg team that won the Allan Cup in 1931. His team represented Canada at the Olympic Winter Games in 1931 in Lake Placid and won the Olympic Gold by winning five games and tying only one. The goals scored for and against for Canada were 32-4. He then later joined the Winnipeg Monarchs representing Canada at the IIHF World Championship in 1935 in Davos. He was crowned as World Champion after Canada won all its games with total goals of 44-7. Vic Lindquist was a respected for over 30 years after his retirement as a player at national and international levels. In 1960 at Squaw Valley, Lindquist participated in his second Olympic Winter Games, this time as a referee, an accomplishment he was particularly proud of and was also referee at the IIFF World Championship in 1963 in Stockholm. He once surprised a visiting Swedish player with his ability to understand Swedish due to the fact that he had coached a Swedish National Team in 1935 before turning to officiating. Vic Lindquist passed away in November 30, 1983.

2016-2017 Regional Award Winners (Click region for more information)


  • Brandon
    • Mike Godfrey (Most Deserving)
    • Amy Lee (Most Improved)
    • Kirk Graham (Most Promising)
  • Central Plains
    • Rod Sveistrup (Most Deserving)
    • Brody MacDonald (Most Improved)
    • Tyler Fedak (Most Promising)
  • Eastman
    • Dawson Konowalchuk (Most Deserving)
    • Braden Cruise (Most Improved)
    • Zach Cumming (Most Promising)
  • Interlake
    • Dean Cochrane (Most Deserving)
    • Colton King (Most Improved)
    • Rob Farebrother (Most Promising)
  • Norman
    • Miner Castel (Most Deserving)
    • Matthew Remple (Most Improved)
    • Reilli Howden (Most Promising)
  • Parkland
    • Larry Greening (Most Deserving)
    • Evan Butler (Most Improved)
    • Steve Bray (Most Promising)
  • Pembina Valley
    • Kevin Scott (Most Deserving)
    • Brody Giesbrecht (Most Improved)
    • Jenai Buchanan (Most Promising)
  • Westman South
    • Brett Stewart (Most Deserving)
    • Brittany Papel (Most Improved)
    • Chase Austin (Most Promising)
  • Winnipeg
    • Gary Chisolm (Most Deserving)
    • Ashley Harris (Most Improved)
    • Cameron Lesey (Most Promising)
  • Yellowhead
    • Andrew Janz (Most Deserving)
    • Jaydon Tait (Most Improved)
    • Wiley Speiss (Most Promising)