Hockey Canada B.C. Hockey Hockey Alberta Hockey Saskatchewan Hockey Manitoba Hockey Northwestern Ontario Ontario Hockey Federation Hockey Eastern Ontario Hockey Quebec Hockey New Brunswick Hockey P.E.I. Hockey Nova Scotia Hockey Newfoundland Hockey North



This scholarship was created in honor of George Allard who served Hockey Manitoba as the Executive Director for nearly 25 years.  During this period, George’s vision and commitment to development established the framework for a number of significant Branch initiatives. Hockey Manitoba honours his legacy through this scholarship.



The name Orville Acres was synonymous with women’s hockey in Manitoba and throughout Canada. He was a player, coach, official, administrator and promoter who played a major role in the development of hockey throughout the province for over 40 years. Orville Acres devoted a lifetime to promoting, developing, organizing and improving amateur hockey in Manitoba.

Orville earned the respect of his peers and was a highly visible member of the women’s hockey program in the province.  As a model hockey builder, he touched the lives of many people, guided many gifted athletes, coaches and officials alike. Fairness in sport was his guiding principal.

A true ambassador to the sport, Orville Acres exemplified the leadership qualities and has made significant contributions to the advancement of female hockey in Canada.



Nick Hill played minor hockey in Winnipeg’s North End, Jr. hockey for the Port Author Bruins, had a short bout with the Boston Bruins organization and ended up playing for Milwaukee in the I.H.L. Nick returned to Winnipeg whereupon he launched a career in sales and founded Kern-Hill Furniture Co-op, coining the phrase “C’mon down!”.

Nick‘s passion for the game of hockey was second to none. He coached all levels of hockey in Manitoba. Team and player development was a very important part of his coaching philosophy. He was one of the original founders of AAA hockey in the city, who felt that Winnipeg needed tiered hockey in order to compete with the larger cities across Canada. Whether it was coaching community club, AAA, Junior or Senior hockey in Manitoba, Nick was a fierce competitor in everything he did.  He always made the time to assist or advise the many players and coaches he spoke to until the last few days of his life.



Mr. Jack Forsyth was actively involved in the game for over six decades serving the game as a player, coach, official and administrator. Jack served as the President of  Hockey Manitoba for three years from 2001 – 2004 and on the Hockey Canada Board of Directors from 2001 – 2007, the final three years as the National Chair of Minor Hockey. In 2008 Jack was awarded the Hockey Canada Order of Merit. Jack is recognized as a Life Member of Hockey Manitoba and also served as the Commissioner of the Manitoba Midget AAA Hockey League for over 20 years.



Todd played the game of hockey with tremendous speed and a big heart, never letting size limit his ability to compete. A feisty forward in the WHL and with the Lloydminster Blazers of the AJHL, he always played the game with intensity. Todd was also assistant captain for Team Manitoba  at the 2003 Canada Winter Games in Campbellton-Bathhurst, NB and named Team Manitoba’s honorary captain for the 2007 Canada Winter Games in Whitehorse, YK. He was very well respected by his teammates and achieved success on and off the ice through his hard work, determination and passion for life.

In June 2004 Todd was diagnosed with Synovial Sarcoma with which he battled using his trademark perseverance and limitless spirit until December of 2006. He may have lost his fight with cancer but his commitment to make a difference continues to inspire. Hockey Manitoba recognizes Todd’s tremendous, unselfish commitment to the game and has established this scholarship in his name to continue his legacy.



This bursary assists a young official who aspires to a post-secondary education within Manitoba.  In order to qualify for the bursary, the candidate must have officiated in Manitoba during the past season and have secured a letter of recommendation from both their High School Principal and Referee-in-Chief.

Ryan Galloway provides the bursary in honor of his mother, Trudy Galloway.  Ryan is a Manitoban who has worked as an official in the MMJHL, MJHL and the WHL.  Ryan has officiated in the professional ranks of both the IHL and AHL, and currently works as a linesman for the NHL. Ryan’s ongoing contributions to Hockey Manitoba’s officiating program are a testament to his integrity, character and professionalism.



These scholarships are awarded annually to student athletes who are Manitoba residents, male or female, attending post-secondary education within Manitoba.  Candidates must be a graduating high school student and awards will be based on involvement in hockey, academic performance and community involvement.



B.F Lorenzetti is the insurance provider for Hockey Canada and its Branches. One of their objectives is to assist in the funding of young athletes and officials.  In an effort to honor the contributions of long serving BFL colleague and friend Jim Stirling who passed away earlier this year BFL Canada has decided to change the name of the BFL Canada Risk and Insurance Scholarship program to the Jim Stirling Scholarship Program donated by BFL Canada.



The Manitoba Hockey Hall of Fame is pleased to provide this annual scholarship honouring the life of Jerry Kruk. Jerry was a long-time member of the Manitoba Hockey Hall of Fame Board of Directors prior to losing his battle with cancer in 2012. Jerry played his youth hockey in Winnipeg’s north end and was a member of the last Winnipeg based team to win the Memorial Cup, the 1957 Winnipeg Braves. Jerry went on to graduate from the University of Manitoba with a degree in Engineering. He was a great contributor to the Winnipeg business community through his association with Intercity Gas Company and latterly as the CEO of CAA Manitoba.