Hockey Canada B.C. Hockey Hockey Alberta Hockey Saskatchewan Hockey Manitoba Hockey Northwestern Ontario Ontario Hockey Federation Hockey Eastern Ontario Hockey Quebec Hockey New Brunswick Hockey P.E.I. Hockey Nova Scotia Hockey Newfoundland Hockey North


by Hockey Manitoba  |  May 24, 2006 12:12 pm



‘Harvesting the Gold’

Winnipeg, MB – Hockey Canada and the Manitoba Host Organizing Committee unveiled on Wednesday the event logo, a contest to design and name the event mascot, the finalized schedule for the 2007 IIHF World Women’s Championship (April 3 – 10, 2007) and that ticket packages are now on sale.

Fourteen game event ticket packages start at only $189.00 and can be purchased beginning today by visiting any Ticketmaster outlet, by calling Ticketmaster at (204) 780-3333 or purchase tickets online at Ticketmaster

“Over 800 hockey fans have already purchased tickets through the priority reservation deposits announced earlier,” said Polly Craik, chair of the Manitoba Host Organizing Committee. “Given this outstanding early response, there is no doubt that the games will sell out and be the most successful World Women’s Hockey event held to date.”

The top nine countries in women’s hockey will participate in the 2007 IIHF World Women’s Championship including top ranked USA (1), Sweden (3), Finland (4), Russia (9), Germany (5), China (6), Switzerland (8), Kazakhstan (7) and Canada (2). Seeding for the event was based on the results from the last World Championship in 2005.

The teams will be split into three preliminary round robin pools to begin the World Championship, with Pool A featuring USA, China and Kazakhstan, Pool B featuring Canada, Germany and Switzerland, and Pool C featuring Sweden, Finland & Russia. After the preliminary round robin, the top three teams from each pool will form a new Pool, the second place finishing teams will form a second new Pool, and the third place finishing teams will form a third new Pool. There will be a second set of round robin matches within the new pools in a second round. Following the second set of round robin matches, the top two placing teams from Pool A will compete in the gold medal match, with the third place team in Pool A playing the first place team in Pool B for the Bronze Medal.

The 2007 IIHF World Women’s Championship will begin on Tuesday, April 3rd with Canada taking on Switzerland in the feature match at 7:30pm. Fifteen (15) round robin games will be played at the MTS Centre in Winnipeg, with three (3) games taking place at Selkirk’s Recreational Complex in Selkirk, Manitoba. Both medal games will be taking place at the MTS Centre on Tuesday, April 10th.

A full schedule for the 2007 IIHF World Women’s Championship can be viewed by clicking here Schedule

Given the huge interest by children and young people for this event, Hockey Canada, the Manitoba Host Organizing Committee and the Winnipeg Free Press Kid’s Club, have teamed up for a contest to help design and name the official mascot for the World Championship. Boys and girls under the age of 12 can enter the contest by designing/drawing their vision of what the mascot should look like and what her/his name should be. Kids can enter the contest by logging onto the kids club section via Winnipeg Free Press, with the deadline for entries being Thursday, June 15th. The winner will receive a prize package consisting of two tournament passes (including the medal games), an event merchandise package, and an official visit from the mascot to their school.

The hosting of the IIHF World Women’s Championship in Winnipeg and Selkirk, MB will mark the fifth time that this international event has been staged in Canada and the first time it will be held in Manitoba.

Canada also hosted the IIHF World Women’s Hockey Championship in 2004 (Halifax, NS) in 2000 (Mississauga, On), in 1997 (Kitchener, ON) and in 1990 (Ottawa, ON,) in 2006 there is no IIHF World Championship for women’s hockey in lieu of the Olympic Winter Games. Canada has won a gold medal at eight of the nine IIHF World Women’s Championships, the exception being a silver medal at the 2005 IIHF World Women’s Championship in Linkoping, Sweden, after losing to the USA in a shoot out. Canada is also the two-time defending Olympic champion, having captured gold in 2002 and in 2006.

For more information on the 2007 IIHF World Women’s Championship and Canada’s National Women’s team, go to Hockey Canada

– 30 –

Hockey Canada News
WHL News
Nov 2, 2005