Hockey Canada B.C. Hockey Hockey Alberta Hockey Saskatchewan Hockey Manitoba Hockey Northwestern Ontario Ontario Hockey Federation Hockey Eastern Ontario Hockey Quebec Hockey New Brunswick Hockey P.E.I. Hockey Nova Scotia Hockey Newfoundland Hockey North


by Hockey Manitoba  |  March 23, 2016 4:50 pm

WINNIPEG, MB – Hockey Manitoba is pleased to promote the 2016 Sr.A Provincials and 2016 Allan Cup – National Sr.AAA Championship held next month.  The Sr.A Provincials tournament is a league-championship qualifying process where the province’s five (Male) Senior leagues will earn a berth into the Sr.A Provincials along with one league having a second representative as a wild card team.  This is the fourth year of this six team championship tournament format which will be hosted between March 31 – April 10.  The South East Prairie Thunder will host the 2016 Allan Cup in Steinbach April 11-16 where they look to defend their 2015 national title on home ice.

The five Sr.A leagues that will be represented at the Sr.A Provincials tournament are; Carillon Senior Hockey League (CSHL), Manitoba Senior Hockey League (MSHL), North Central Hockey League (NCHL), South Eastern Manitoba Hockey League (SEMHL) and the Tiger Hills Hockey League (THHL).  The 2016 wild card rotation will be the league runner-up from the TTHL.  The Sr.A Provincials will have two pools with three teams in each side playing a round-robin format.  The top two teams from each pool will advance to the semi-finals leading into the championship final set for Sunday, April 10 at MTS Iceplex.

Please click here for Sr. A Provincials schedule

Please click here for Sr. A Provincials scores & stats

To track the progress of qualifying teams, please visit the various league websites to follow their respective league playoffs;

Joining the South East Prairie Thunder in the 2016 Allan Cup will be the Ile-des-Chenes North Stars who qualified by defeating the Manitoba Lightning earlier this month in a best of three series, 2-1.  The Ile-des-Chenes North Stars won the Allan Cup in 2003 and hosted the event last time it was held in Manitoba back in 2009.  The South East Prairie Thunder lost the 2009 final in double-overtime but went on to win the championship in 2012 and 2015 now seeking their third title in 2016.  The two Manitoba clubs will be joined by four other teams from regions across Canada; Atlantic, Central, Pacific, West.  Regional qualifiers will be determined over the next two weeks within each specific region to determine the final field for the 2016 Allan Cup.  Since the adoption of a national playoff system in 1920, Manitoba has seen 12 Allan Cup victories from member clubs, more than any other province with the exception of Ontario with 49 championships.

To track the progress of qualifying team and Allan Cup details please visit  To purchase tickets to the 2016 Allan Cup in Steinbach please contact Jared Driedger ( or Marv Kornelson (

Hockey Manitoba is proud to provide ongoing support to Senior, men’s amateur, hockey in the province and on the national stage.

Hockey Canada News
WHL News
Nov 2, 2005