Hockey Canada B.C. Hockey Hockey Alberta Hockey Saskatchewan Hockey Manitoba Hockey Northwestern Ontario Ontario Hockey Federation Hockey Eastern Ontario Hockey Quebec Hockey New Brunswick Hockey P.E.I. Hockey Nova Scotia Hockey Newfoundland Hockey North


by Hockey Manitoba  |  May 3, 2004 12:12 pm

At a recent luncheon, Hockey Manitoba proudly acknowledged the scholarship award winners for the 2003-2004 season.

The association recognized 17 individual members providing them each with scholarship awards ranging from $500 – $1500, in order to assist them in the pursuit of their educational goals and athletic excellence.

Successful male or female applicants must be a Manitoba resident, enrolled full-time at one of Manitoba’s three major Universities or Community College, plus be actively involved in the community and hockey.

The following are the award winners;

David Christiansen $1500.00 (George Allard Award)
Whitney Mitchell $1000.00 (Orville Acres Memorial Award)

Amber Sullivan $1000.00 (Nick Hill Memorial Scholarship)

Sid Rashid $ 500.00 (Trudy Galloway Memorial Bursary)

Bryce Millar $ 500.00 (B.F. Lorenzetti Award)

Holly Klippenstein $ 500.00 (B.F. Lorenzetti Award)

Janelle Wallace $ 500.00 (Sheraton Scholarship Award)

Kayne Dunn $ 500.00 (Hockey Manitoba Award)

Angela Van Deynze $ 500.00 (Hockey Manitoba Award)

Bryan Reimer $ 500.00 (Hockey Manitoba Award)

Britney Franklin $ 500.00 (Hockey Manitoba Award)

Lee Tulley $ 500.00 (Hockey Manitoba Award)

Cory Jacobson $ 500.00 (Hockey Manitoba Award)

Melisa Comte $ 500.00 (Hockey Manitoba Award)

Shelby Klassen $ 500.00 (Hockey Manitoba Award)

Bradley Henderson $ 500.00 (Hockey Manitoba Award)

Bryan Keeler $ 500.00 (Hockey Manitoba Award)

The George Allard Scholarship was established in honor of the lifelong commitment and devotion to hockey by former and long-serving Executive Director, George Allard. This year’s recipient was David Christiansen.

A 3-year veteran of the Kelvin High School Clippers, this year David was selected as the starting goalie in the Winnipeg High School Hockey All-Star Game. David is a competitive player who has received several accolades for his sportsmanship both on and off the ice. In topping the Honor Roll each year, including his senior year, David is a strong candidate to capture the Governor General’s Award. David will be studying Science at University.

The Orville Acres Memorial Scholarship was presented to Whitney Mitchell. Orville was a long-standing Hockey Manitoba volunteer who was tragically killed in an automobile accident in November 2002.

In addition to goaltending for her Female Midget team, Whitney is also a reliable and well-respected Level 2 official within Elkhorn Minor Hockey. Whitney is a great asset to her community – assisting coaches with practices and expending valuable time and effort in Power Skating sessions where the kids admire her goaltending expertise as well as her upbeat and easy-going attitude. Whitney will be heading to University to study Pharmacology.

The Nick Hill Scholarship was presented for the first time to Amber Sullivan. Nick was a long-standing Hockey Manitoba volunteer and entrepreneur who coined the phrase “C’mon down!”

This year, Amber played hockey with the Pembina Trail Hockey Association Black Hawks, the Female Midget AA City Champions. She won at the Western Shield in 2003 playing with the St. Adolphe Female Midget AA team. Amber participates in her school leadership group, as well as peer mentoring and peer support groups. An Honor Roll student who has demonstrated a lifetime of commitment to amateur sports in Manitoba, Amber will be pursuing a degree in Education at the University of Manitoba.

NHL Linesman Ryan Galloway presented the Trudy Galloway Memorial Bursary to Sid Rashid. The award has been established to honor his mother Trudy and is presented to a young official who aspires to a post-secondary education in Manitoba.

A member of Morden Minor Hockey, Sid participates as a player, coach, safety and game official. Sid is involved in many sports in school and in his community, as well as being the Sport Manitoba Council youth representative for Pembina Valley and Central Region. This Honor Roll student will be studying Sciences and Medicine at University, with his major area of study being Sports Medicine.

The Sheraton Hotel Scholarship presented by Dana Huston of the Sheraton Hotel went to Janelle Wallace.

In addition to being a member of Team Manitoba and the Assistant Captain of the Holland Female Midget team, Janelle is also a Level 3 official. Janelle participates as an athletic coach for the local Pee Wee hockey team, as a member of her school’s peer and mentorship programs as well as the student council. Janelle plans to pursue her Bachelor of Science, followed by a Degree in Education.

Hockey Canada News
WHL News
Nov 2, 2005