Hockey Canada B.C. Hockey Hockey Alberta Hockey Saskatchewan Hockey Manitoba Hockey Northwestern Ontario Ontario Hockey Federation Hockey Eastern Ontario Hockey Quebec Hockey New Brunswick Hockey P.E.I. Hockey Nova Scotia Hockey Newfoundland Hockey North

Botterill named to Worlds roster, Collins and Larocque named to Centralized roster

by Hockey Manitoba  |  March 17, 2009 12:00 am


CALGARY, AB – Canada’s National Women’s Team roster has been named for the 2009 IIHF World Women’s Championship, which will be held April 4-12 in Hämeenlinna, Finland. Hockey Canada has also named the additional four players who will be centralized in Calgary, AB beginning in August. All of the centralized players have the chance to represent Canada at the 2010 Olympic Winter Games in Vancouver, BC.

Canada’s world championship roster includes three goaltenders, six defencemen and 12 forwards, along with one alternate (forward Jennifer Wakefield). Sixteen players on the roster competed at the 2008 IIHF World Women’s Championship in Harbin, China, helping Canada win a silver medal. Canada will attempt to win its 10th gold medal all-time at the IIHF World Women’s Championship since the event began in 1990. Canada has won nine of 11 world championships all-time.

The second part of today’s announcement has to do with Canada’s Olympic centralization roster. In August, 26 players will be in Calgary full-time in preparation for the 2010 Olympic Winter Games. The group of players will face off against Midget AAA teams throughout Alberta, along with taking part in a number of international competitions, including the 2009 Hockey Canada Cup in Vancouver, BC in early September and the 2009 4 Nations Cup in Finland in early November.

Canada will need to trim its roster to 21 players in time for the 2010 Olympic Winter Games. The women’s hockey tournament opens in Vancouver on February 13, 2010.

For more information and full story please click here.

Hockey Manitoba congratulates Jennifer Botterill (Winnipeg), Delaney Collins (Pilot Mound) and Jocelyn Larocque (Ste. Anne) for their special accomplishment!

Hockey Canada News
WHL News
Nov 2, 2005