Hockey Canada B.C. Hockey Hockey Alberta Hockey Saskatchewan Hockey Manitoba Hockey Northwestern Ontario Ontario Hockey Federation Hockey Eastern Ontario Hockey Quebec Hockey New Brunswick Hockey P.E.I. Hockey Nova Scotia Hockey Newfoundland Hockey North

Ed Belfour to be inducted into Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame

by Hockey Manitoba  |  July 4, 2011 11:38 am

WINNIPEG, MB – This year’s individual recipients being inducted into the Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame include a Vezina Trophy winner, a world champion in curling and another in sailing, a CFL record-holder, a lawn bowls legend, a baseball icon and a two-sport great they called "The Keeper".

On November 5, 2011, five athletes, one builder, one all rounder and two teams will be inducted into the Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame at the 32nd Annual Induction Ceremonies. The 2011 inductees are:

Ed BELFOUR (Athlete, Hockey)

Kerry BURTNYK (Athlete, Curling)

Bob CAMERON (Athlete, Football)

Clarice (LAWTON) FITZPATRICK (All Round, Lawn Bowls)

Kelly HAND (Athlete, Sailing)

Glenn McWHINNEY (Veteran, Athlete, Football/Basketball)

Joe WIWCHAR (Builder, Baseball)

1967 Winnipeg Mixed Bowling Team (Veteran, Team Five Pin Bowling)

1975-76 University of Manitoba Bisons (Team, Basketball)

The Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame & Museum has inducted 432 members since it was established in 1980. "These nine recipients join an exclusive group of Manitoba’s finest in sport," said Don Pincock, President of the Hall of Fame’s Board of Directors. "We strive to preserve, celebrate and showcase the history and heritage of sport excellence and achievement and these seven individuals and two teams have earned their place in Manitoba’s sport history. It is an exceptional slate for 2011."

Tickets for the Induction Dinner go on sale August 1, 2011. Ticket and event information can be found at:

The Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame and Museum is a registered charitable organization managed by a volunteer Board of Directors.

Hockey Canada News
WHL News
Nov 2, 2005