Hockey Canada B.C. Hockey Hockey Alberta Hockey Saskatchewan Hockey Manitoba Hockey Northwestern Ontario Ontario Hockey Federation Hockey Eastern Ontario Hockey Quebec Hockey New Brunswick Hockey P.E.I. Hockey Nova Scotia Hockey Newfoundland Hockey North

Four Manitobans honoured with CIS All-Canadian Awards

by Hockey Manitoba  |  March 15, 2013 11:07 am

Toronto, ON – The Canadian Hockey League is proud to announce that six recipients of Canadian Interuniversity Sport All-Canadian Awards and nearly 100% of the All-Canadian and All-Rookie Teams for the 2012-13 season are CHL graduates, including CIS Player of the Year Lucas Bloodoff of Saint Mary's University who played with the Kelowna Rockets between 2006-10.

In addition, 118 CHL graduates are competing on the six teams in contention for the 2013 University Cup Championship representing 85% of all players in the tournament.


Senator Joseph A. Sullivan Trophy (player of the year): Lucas Bloodoff (Kelowna Rockets, 2010), Saint Mary's
Defenceman of the year: Pierre-Luc Lessard (Baie-Comeau Drakkar, 2009), UQTR
Goaltender of the year: Kurtis Mucha (Kamloops Blazers, 2010), Alberta
Clare Drake Award (rookie of the year): Mitch Porowski (Brampton Battalion, 2012), Carleton
R.W. Pugh Award (most sportsmanlike player): Jordan Hickmott (Edmonton Oil Kings, 2011), Alberta
Father George Kehoe Memorial Award (coach of the year): Trevor Stienburg (London Knights, 1986), Saint Mary's

First Team:
Pos. – Athlete – (Last CHL Club, Year) – University – Year – Hometown – Faculty
G Kurtis Mucha (Kamloops Blazers, 2010) Alberta 3 Sherwood Park, Alta. Science
D Pierre-Luc Lessard (Baie-Comeau Drakkar, 2009) UQTR 4 Thetford Mines, Que. Administration
D Michael D'Orazio (Mississauga St. Michael's Majors, 2011) Saint Mary's 2 Richmond Hill, Ont. Commerce
F Lucas Bloodoff (Kelowna Rockets, 2010) Saint Mary's 3 Castlegar, B.C. Commerce
F Félix Petit (Baie-Comeau Drakkar) – UQTR 3 Jonquière, Que. Administration
F Blair Macaulay (Tri-City Americans, 2009) Manitoba 4 Winnipeg, Man. Business

Second Team:
G Ryan Daniels (Peterborough Petes, 2009) Laurier 4 Pickering, Ont. Business
D Jesse Craige (Chilliwack Bruins, 2010) Alberta 3 Edmonton, Alta. PE & Recreation
F Justin Larson (Peterborough Petes, 2011) Waterloo 2 Buckhorn, Ont. Legal Studies
F Andrew Clark (Brandon Wheat Kings, 2009) Acadia 4 Brandon, Man. Kinesiology
F Kyle Bortis (Calgary Hitmen, 2009) Saskatchewan 4 Saskatoon, Sask. Agri. & Bioresources

All-Rookie Team:
G Bryce O'Hagan (Peterborough Petes, 2011) UOIT 1 Burlington, Ont. Criminology
D Neil Manning (Vancouver Giants, 2012) UBC 1 Nanaimo, B.C. Commerce
D Lane Werbowski (Edmonton Oil Kings, 2010) Toronto 1 Winnipeg, Man. Arts and Science
F Mitch Porowski (Brampton Battalion, 2012) Carleton 1 Ottawa, Ont. Arts
F Mike Cazzola (Ottawa 67's, 2012) Acadia 1 Guelph, Ont. Kinesiology
F James Henry (Moose Jaw Warriors, 2012) Manitoba 1 Winnipeg, Man. University 1

The 2013 University Cup features the host and Canada West Finalists the University of Saskatchewan, the Canada West Champion University of Alberta Golden Bears, the AUS Champion University of New Brunswick Varsity Reds and finalists the Saint Mary's Huskies, the OUA Champion University of Quebec Trois-Rivieres and finalists the University of Waterloo Warriors.

The University Cup got underway Thursday at the Credit Union Centre and concludes Sunday afternoon.

CHL graduates are able to compete in CIS hockey programs and receive their education paid for by taking advantage of the Scholarship Programs throughout the CHL which are funded by the member clubs of the Western Hockey League, the Ontario Hockey League, and the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League. One year of college or university tuition and books is offered for each year of CHL play.

Hockey Canada News
WHL News
Nov 2, 2005