Hockey Canada B.C. Hockey Hockey Alberta Hockey Saskatchewan Hockey Manitoba Hockey Northwestern Ontario Ontario Hockey Federation Hockey Eastern Ontario Hockey Quebec Hockey New Brunswick Hockey P.E.I. Hockey Nova Scotia Hockey Newfoundland Hockey North


by Hockey Manitoba  |  May 25, 2004 12:12 pm

On Monday evening, Hockey Canada handed out its annual awards, recognizing outstanding volunteers and achievements in minor hockey in Canada. Nominations were submitted to Hockey Canada by its 13 member Branches, and the winners were voted on by Hockey Canada’s officers or the appropriate council.

Hockey Canada Award winners for 2003-2004 were:

Wade Taylor Truro, NS Volunteer of the Year Award

Jacques Martin St-Pascal, ON Gordon Juckes Award (contribution to development of hockey)

Orville Acres Pinawa, MB Female Breakthrough Award (promotion/contribution to female hockey)

Marv Ryder Bonavista, NL Order of Merit (Atlantic)

Jules Lavictoire Ottawa, ON Order of Merit (Central)

Andre Brin Winnipeg, MB Hal Lewis Award

Louise Allain Hockey Quebec Liz McKinnon Award

Wade Taylor, of Truro, NS received Hockey Canada’s Volunteer of the Year Award, which recognizes an outstanding volunteer who has contributed to amateur hockey and Hockey Canada. Taylor has been involved in the administration of hockey in Nova Scotia for a number of years, becoming a key contributor on Hockey Nova Scotia’s Board of Directors in 1995. Through his leadership and direction, Hockey Nova Scotia’s financial position improved greatly. Taylor was also the Chair of Finance for the 2003 World Junior Championship and the 2004 World Women’s Hockey Championship in Halifax.

Jacques Martin, of St-Pascal, ON, received the Gordon Juckes Award which recognizes the outstanding contribution of an individual to the development of amateur hockey in Canada at the National Level. Martin was the head coach of the NHL’s Ottawa Senators for almost eight seasons and was an associate coach with Canada’s gold medal winning Men’s Olympic Team in 2002. Beyond his involvement on the professional and international hockey stage, Martin has unselfishly contributed time and effort to the National Coaching Certification Program, has actively supported national and branch coaching programs in the Ottawa area and has been a regular presenter at Coaching Seminars throughout Canada. Martin will be an associate coach with Team Canada at the World Cup of Hockey 2004.

The late Orville Acres, of Pinawa, MB, was the recipient of Hockey Canada’s Female Breakthrough Award, which honours an individual who has made a significant contribution to the promotion and/or development of female hockey in Canada. Acres was a very large contributor in coaching women’s hockey, in provincial high performance programs, in the establishment of female hockey skills clinics and female hockey development programs throughout Manitoba.

Hockey Canada Order of Merit Award was instituted in 1960 to “honor those individuals who for many years have served amateur hockey faithfully, having participated as players, served as coaches and association members, and made outstanding contributions to Canadian amateur hockey.” The Order of Merit Award is honoured in three regions of the country annually: Western, Central and Atlantic. This year’s Hockey Canada Order of Merit recipients were Marv Ryder (Atlantic) of Bonavista, NL and Jules Lavictoire (Central), of Ottawa, ON.

Marv Ryder, of Bonavista, NL, played, coached and managed in Newfoundland, and spent 13 years as president of Bonavista Minor Hockey. After two years as the Vice Chair at Large with Hockey Newfoundland and Labrador, Ryder has been president of the Hockey Canada branch since 2000.

Jules Lavictoire, of Ottawa, ON, has dedicated 40 years to hockey in the Ottawa area. Lavictoire was actively involved in his local minor hockey associations from 1964 through 1990. During this time, Lavictoire was involved in the setting up of a hockey school, and very involved in Junior hockey in the area. Elected Vice President of the Ottawa District Hockey Association in 1996, Lavictoire has been the president of the ODHA since 1991.

The Hal Lewis Award recognizes outstanding contributions to the game of hockey by a staff member of Hockey Canada. This year’s award went to Hockey Canada employee Andre Brin. Brin worked with Hockey Canada for five years as Manager, Media relations, and recently left the organization to take on a new challenge with the Francophone Games in his hometown of Winnipeg, MB.

The Liz MacKinnon Award is presented in honour of the late Liz MacKinnon, wife of Hockey Canada’s Past Chair, the late Bob MacKinnon and recognizes a Hockey Canada delegate’s companion for his or her support. For 2003-2004, the Award went to Louise Allain.

All media inquiries in regard to Hockey Canada’s AGM should be directed to Brad Pascall, Director, Communications (cell- 403-703-8561) who will be on-site in Thunder Bay.

Hockey Canada News
WHL News
Nov 2, 2005