Hockey Canada B.C. Hockey Hockey Alberta Hockey Saskatchewan Hockey Manitoba Hockey Northwestern Ontario Ontario Hockey Federation Hockey Eastern Ontario Hockey Quebec Hockey New Brunswick Hockey P.E.I. Hockey Nova Scotia Hockey Newfoundland Hockey North

Hunt & Jarvis named to CHL/NHL Top Prospects Game

by Ezra Ginsburg  |  December 16, 2019 3:10 pm

Manitobans Daemon Hunt (Defenceman, Moose Jaw Warriors) and Seth Jarvis (Forward, Portland Winterhawks) have been invited to compete in the 2020 Kubota CHL/NHL Top Prospects Game.

Brandon’s Daemon Hunt has 11 assists in 23 games for the Moose Jaw Warriors this season. Hunt is considered an A prospect for the 2020 NHL Entry Draft by NHL Central Scouting.

Winnipeg’s Seth Jarvis has 14 goals and 19 assists in 29 games for the Portland Winterhawks this season. Jarvis is considered a B prospect for the 2020 NHL Entry Draft by NHL Central Scouting.

Both Hunt and Jarvis are alumni of Hockey Manitoba’s U-16 Program of Excellence team.

The 25th annual showcase of top CHL players eligible for the NHL Draft takes place on Thursday January 16, 2020, and is hosted by the Hamilton Bulldogs. The 40 players selected were chosen by NHL clubs and feature talent from across the Ontario Hockey League, WHL, and Quebec Major Junior Hockey League. 13 players from the Western Hockey League have been selected to participate in this year’s event.

12 CHL players from last year’s game in Red Deer were chosen in the first round of the 2019 NHL Draft led by Saskatoon Blades forward Kirby Dach picked third overall and currently competing as a member of the Chicago Blackhawks.  In 24 years, a total of 329 CHL players from this event have been chosen by NHL clubs in the first round of the NHL Draft representing close to 45% of all players selected.  Since the event was first introduced in 1996 the game has featured 14 players selected with the first overall pick in the NHL Draft including Nico Hischier (2017), Connor McDavid (2015), Aaron Ekblad (2014), Nathan MacKinnon (2013), Ryan Nugent-Hopkins (2011), Taylor Hall (2010), John Tavares (2009), Steven Stamkos (2008), Patrick Kane (2007), Marc-Andre Fleury (2003), Rick Nash (2002), Vincent Lecavalier (1998), Joe Thornton (1997), and Chris Phillips (1996).

About the Western Hockey League
Regarded as the world’s finest development league for junior hockey players, the Western Hockey League (WHL) head office is based in Calgary, Alberta. The WHL consists of 22 member Clubs with 17 located in Western Canada and five in the U.S. Pacific Northwest. A member of the Canadian Hockey League, the WHL has been a leading supplier of talent for the National Hockey League for over 50 years. The WHL is also the leading provider of hockey scholarships with over 350 graduates each year receiving WHL Scholarships to pursue a post-secondary education of their choice. Each season, WHL players also form the nucleus of Canada’s National Junior Hockey Team.

Hockey Canada News
WHL News
Nov 2, 2005