Hockey Canada B.C. Hockey Hockey Alberta Hockey Saskatchewan Hockey Manitoba Hockey Northwestern Ontario Ontario Hockey Federation Hockey Eastern Ontario Hockey Quebec Hockey New Brunswick Hockey P.E.I. Hockey Nova Scotia Hockey Newfoundland Hockey North

Manitoba Blizzard win MWJHL title for the first time

by Hockey Manitoba  |  April 16, 2009 9:47 am

For the first time in the 5 year history of the MWJHL the Manitoba Blizzard have won the Provincial Championship. The Junior women’s team won their final series 2 games to 1 with a 4-3 shoot out win over the Polar Ice in the third and remaining game.

The goal scorers for the Blizzard were Jen Derworiz (2), Holly Penman and Susan Deane. Samantha Hunt was the goaltender. Replying for the Ice was Taylor Homenick, Darci Instance and Lorissa Klopak. Tonya Cardinal, a rookie in the MWJHL, was in the goal for the Ice.

Both teams deserve full credit for providing entertaining and excellent hockey. Congratulations to the Gold medal winners the Blizzard and the Silver medalists the Ice.

Congratulatons as well to the coaching staff of the Blizzard – Doug Corby, Doug Orchard, Ashley Desjardins and Manager Jim Desjardins and the Ice coaches Ashley Van Aggelen, Krissy Jackson and Emily Meronyk.

Hockey Canada News
WHL News
Nov 2, 2005