Hockey Canada B.C. Hockey Hockey Alberta Hockey Saskatchewan Hockey Manitoba Hockey Northwestern Ontario Ontario Hockey Federation Hockey Eastern Ontario Hockey Quebec Hockey New Brunswick Hockey P.E.I. Hockey Nova Scotia Hockey Newfoundland Hockey North


by Hockey Manitoba  |  May 5, 2005 12:12 pm

Brandon Wheat King teammates Eric Fehr and Tyler Plante both proved big
winners when the Western Hockey League handed out its awards Wednesday

The 19 year old Fehr, who originally hails from Winkler, beat out fellow
Manitoban Nigel Dawes of the Kootenay Ice in capturing the Four Broncos
Memorial Trophy as WHL Player of the Year. Fehr, a 2003 first round
draft choice of the Washington Capitals, posted 111 points on 59 goals
and 52 assists in 71 games this season to also capture the WHL scoring
crown. Fehr becomes only the 6th Manitoban, and first since Marty
Murray in 1995, to capture WHL Player of the Year honours.

Meanwhile Plante, a Brandon native, captured the Jim Piggott Memorial
Trophy as WHL Rookie of the Year. Plante set the Wheat King record for
shutouts in a season with 6, en route to recording 34 wins over the
course of his first season. Plante was also an instrumental part of the
Brandon Wheat King AAA Midget squad that captured the Air Canada Cup
National Midget Championship last April in Kenora.

Congratulations Eric and Tyler!

Hockey Canada News
WHL News
Nov 2, 2005