Hockey Canada B.C. Hockey Hockey Alberta Hockey Saskatchewan Hockey Manitoba Hockey Northwestern Ontario Ontario Hockey Federation Hockey Eastern Ontario Hockey Quebec Hockey New Brunswick Hockey P.E.I. Hockey Nova Scotia Hockey Newfoundland Hockey North

MASRC Female U-18 Team Manitoba win National Championship

by Hockey Manitoba  |  May 13, 2009 12:57 pm

MASRC Female U-18 Team Manitoba have won the 2009 National Aboriginal Hockey Championships. The national event was hosted by MASRC and the Aboriginal Sport Cirlce May 3-9 in Winnipeg at the University of Manitoba. The competition annually sees elite players from across Canada with aboriginal ancestry. Many Provincial U-18 team players, as well as some NCAA and CIS players often compete at this event.

Team Manitoba defeated Team Ontario South in the final to capture the National title. Ontario South held a 3-1 lead in the second period, but could not hold back an offensive out burst fromManitoba with 4 unanswered goals to win the game 5-3. Both Male and Female Finals were nationally televised live on APTN.

The MASRC (Manitoba Aboriginal Sport & Recreation Council) is a Sport Manitoba organization responsible for the development Aboriginal sport in Manitoba. The MASRC partners with Provincial Sport Organizations, such as Hockey Manitoba, in fostering development for their membership.

2009 Team Manitoba Roster:

Dee-Ana Marion, Darion Bruyere,Jasmine Lavesque, Kayla Chomokovski, Laurel Nychyporuk, Karen Larson, Lynne Larson, Kristine Grenier, Rachele Bosc, Sydney Burghardt, Sara Ronson, Autumn Garnham, Leslie St-Godard, Korrie Watt, Danica Knockaert, Tori Williams, Tara Laquette, Brigette Laquette, Peter Symchuk – Head Coach, Nicky Larson – Asst. Coach, Natashia Moodie – Asst. Coach, Alice Swampy – Asst. Coach, Carla Taylor – Trainer, Bev Drobot – Manager.

Hockey Canada News
WHL News
Nov 2, 2005