Hockey Canada B.C. Hockey Hockey Alberta Hockey Saskatchewan Hockey Manitoba Hockey Northwestern Ontario Ontario Hockey Federation Hockey Eastern Ontario Hockey Quebec Hockey New Brunswick Hockey P.E.I. Hockey Nova Scotia Hockey Newfoundland Hockey North

MJHL names 2009/10 nominees for league awards

by Hockey Manitoba  |  February 19, 2010 11:05 am

Nominees for the MJHL’s six major awards have been finalized, Commissioner Kim Davis announced today.

The respective winners will be announced over the next week. In addition, the MJHL’s first, second and rookie all-star teams will be also announced.

“Each team submitted a nominee for the awards and the league’s 11 coaches subsequently conducted a vote,” explained Davis. “Each of the nominees should be very proud of their accomplishment.”

The finalists are:

MVP – Steve “Boomer”Hawrysh Award

  • David Aime – OCN
  • Steven Shamanski – Dauphin
  • Taylor Dickin – Selkirk

Defenseman – Brian Kozak Trophy

  • Steven Shamanski – Dauphin
  • Dale Warkentin – OCN
  • Zach Tully – Portage

Rookie – Vince Leah Trophy

  • Cole Brunet – Portage
  • Brendan O’Donnell – South Blues
  • Eric Coulombe – Steinbach

Hockey Ability & Sportsmanship – Lorne “Windy” Lyndon Trophy

  • Shane Luke – Dauphin

  • Chris Reimer – Swan Valley
  • Blake Chartier – Saints

Top Goaltender Trophy

  • David Aime – OCN
  • Peter Alexander – Winkler
  • Joey Rewucki – Selkirk

Coach of the Year – Portage Terriers “ Muzz McPherson” Award

  • Ryan Smith – Selkirk
  • Dwayne Kirkup – Swan Valley
  • Rich Gosselin – Steinbach

Hockey Canada News
WHL News
Nov 2, 2005