Hockey Canada B.C. Hockey Hockey Alberta Hockey Saskatchewan Hockey Manitoba Hockey Northwestern Ontario Ontario Hockey Federation Hockey Eastern Ontario Hockey Quebec Hockey New Brunswick Hockey P.E.I. Hockey Nova Scotia Hockey Newfoundland Hockey North


by Hockey Manitoba  |  March 21, 2016 12:21 pm

The Polar Ice Bears behind the superb and outstanding goaltending of Stephanie Caryk, a constant forecheck and a new and improved defensive strategy stopped the Northern Stars cold by winning the Provincial Championship of the MWJHL 2015-2016 season in two straight games!

Congratulations to every team member and team official of the Polar Ice for a great season (2nd place overall) and the accomplishment of winning the coveted MWJHL Provincial Cup.  Dave Benediktson, who sees his role as a Head Coach and mentor, was very pleased  to leave his rookie coaches Chantal Hebert, Christina Keeper, Kristine Goldhawk and Melissa Muir with the bench  duties while he parked himself in the “nest” in the balcony. All of his coaches are former MWJHL players and we are very proud of them. To boot, Manager Tom Thomas, who served faithfully these past two years also shared the honours and was very proud of all of them and daughter and Captain Teighan Thomas. I might add she played admirably as captain and grad member of the Polar Ice this entire year.

Led by veterans Teighan Thomas and Haley Kirkbride- Taylor (grads) and the defensive corps of Hailey Cromie (rookie), Ashley Kubic, Halle Meadows, Christine Bumstead, Teighan Thomas and sometimes D / forward Tierney Maytchak and along with the forward lines of Michelle Anderson, Sydney Maurice (rookie),Kristen Timmerman (rookie), Sarah Hnytka, Megan Ross (rookie) , Madi Dreger, Keauna Oliver –Hanna, Christine Sheppard, Destyni Chiborak (rookie) and goalies Stephanie Caryk and  Hallie Broda (rookie) with a special return of Courtney Marcinyshyn resulted in the memorable year.

Well done all of you. Enjoy this occasion and these moments as many never get the opportunity to win a Championship. You have earned it.

Kirk Kuppers, President MWJHL

Hockey Canada News
WHL News
Nov 2, 2005