Hockey Canada B.C. Hockey Hockey Alberta Hockey Saskatchewan Hockey Manitoba Hockey Northwestern Ontario Ontario Hockey Federation Hockey Eastern Ontario Hockey Quebec Hockey New Brunswick Hockey P.E.I. Hockey Nova Scotia Hockey Newfoundland Hockey North


by Hockey Manitoba  |  February 25, 2004 12:12 pm

Hockey Canada and RBC Financial Group name New Brunswick man as national winner of THE RBC Local Hockey Leaders program

February 24, 2004- TORONTO, ON – Hockey Canada and RBC Financial Group today named Art Comeau of Saint John, New Brunswick the national winner of the first ever RBC Local Hockey Leaders program.

Comeau was chosen from the 13 regional winners of the RBC Local Hockey Leaders program, announced on February 11, 2004. As national winner, Comeau will receive a $25,000 donation from RBC for a local hockey cause in his name, in addition to the $5,000 donation he already received as a regional winner.

Comeau was honored as the national winner of the RBC Local Hockey Leaders program based on his coordination of a school hockey league that allows more than 400 Saint John youth to play hockey on eight junior high and 28 elementary teams.

“For 34 years, Art has been coordinating school hockey for underprivileged kids,” said Mike Dawson in his submission essay. “Art is a true local hero and there are thousands of individuals who have been able to experience hockey over the past 30 years in the Saint John area that can attest to this.”

Hockey Canada, RBC Financial Group, the Hockey Hall of Fame and hockey commentator Ron MacLean launched the RBC Local Hockey Leaders Program to recognize behind-the-scenes individuals who dedicate their time to grassroots hockey in their community. A panel including Ron MacLean, Hockey Hall of Fame representative, Ron Ellis, Olympic Gold Medalist Hayley Wickenheiser and Hockey Canada officials reviewed submissions and selected winners based on hard work, dependability, enthusiasm, leadership and commitment to making hockey an accessible, community-binding and positive experience in the community.

“Art Comeau has had a positive impact on a lot of young hockey players in his community, and we’re proud to recognize his commitment,” said Ann Louise Vehovec, senior vice-president, RBC Financial Group. “Art exemplifies everything the RBC Local Hockey Leaders program represents: commitment, passion and leadership.”

“Congratulations to Art Comeau for being chosen as the national winner of the RBC Local Hockey Leaders program,” said Bob Nicholson, president, Hockey Canada. “The dedication of volunteers involved in hockey, such as Art Comeau, is the reason why the game of hockey from coast to coast in our country is so strong.”

The regional winners, one from each of the Hockey Canada 13 regions, all received an autographed Team Canada jersey and, along with Comeau, will be recognized in the Hockey Hall of Fame.

2004 RBC Local Hockey Leaders:

RBC Local Hockey Leader
Nominated By

NATIONAL WINNER plus New Brunswick
Art Comeau, Saint John, NB
Mike Dawson

Hockey North
Joe Walsh, Yellowknife NWT
Joe Latremouille

British Columbia
Jane Herman, Chase, BC
Jane Torbohm

Kevin Yellowaga, Pincher Creek, AB
Rick Carter

Vince Stevenson, Shaunavon, SK
Cam Dickie

Alan Vergouwen, Toutes Aides, MB
Beverly Didychuk

Martin Porteous, Orangeville, ON
Lisa Henrick

Northwestern Ontario
Grant Sherred, Kenora, ON
Gary Norris

Ottawa District
Craig & Janet Shouldice, Nepean, ON
Mario Arnone

Martin Longchamps, Montreal, PQ
Phillipe Levesque

Nova Scotia
Clint Lettice, Sydney Mines, NS
David Lewis

Prince Edward Island
Susan Dalziel, Borden, PEI
Mike Connolly

Newfoundland & Labrador
Gerrard Morry, Stephenville, NFLD
Phyllis Hapgood

For more information and biographies on all the RBC Local Hockey Leaders, please visit

For further information, please contact:

Brian Findlay or Bob Stellick, 416-603-9452

Brad Pascall, Hockey Canada Communications, 403-777-4556

Chris Pepper, Media Relations, RBC Financial Group, 416-974-2124

Hockey Canada News
WHL News
Nov 2, 2005