Hockey Canada B.C. Hockey Hockey Alberta Hockey Saskatchewan Hockey Manitoba Hockey Northwestern Ontario Ontario Hockey Federation Hockey Eastern Ontario Hockey Quebec Hockey New Brunswick Hockey P.E.I. Hockey Nova Scotia Hockey Newfoundland Hockey North

Six Manitobans to compete against Russia with Team WHL

by Hockey Manitoba  |  October 22, 2010 4:20 pm

CALGARY, AB – The Canadian Hockey League in association with the Western Hockey League and the Kamloops Blazers and Prince George Cougars Hockey Clubs today announced the rosters for Team WHL that will compete against Team Russia in the 2010 SUBWAY® Super Series.

The 2010 SUBWAY® Super Series will take place November 8 – 18 and marks the eighth straight year that teams of CHL All-Stars have competed against Team Russia in preparation for the World Junior Hockey Championships. The SUBWAY® Super Series is an integral part of the evaluation process prior to Team Canada’s final selection camp in December. This season, Canada will be competing for their 13th straight medal at the 2011 tournament in Buffalo, NY.

Team WHL will face Team Russia in games five and six of the series played Wednesday, November 17 in Kamloops, BC, and on Thursday, November 18 in Prince George, BC. The first two games of the series are hosted by the QMJHL with the OHL hosting games three and four.

Team WHL was selected by a special committee of WHL General Managers along with Kevin Prendergast, Hockey Canada’s Head Scout for the Canadian National Junior Team, as part of the selection process for the 2011 World Junior Hockey Championships.

“I’m honoured to be working with such a strong group of talented hockey players from the Western Hockey League,” commented Team WHL head coach Ryan Huska. “There are some terrific young hockey players in the WHL. This will be a great challenge for them against a very good Russian hockey club in this year’s SUBWAY® Super Series.”


The complete Team WHL roster consists of 32 players – two goalies, 10 defenceman and 20 forwards. Top NHL prospects for the 2011 NHL Entry Draft Ryan Nugent-Hopkins (RD) and Ty Rattie (POR) will compete in the series along with 2012 NHL Draft top prospect Ryan Murray (EVT). Team WHL also features four first round draft picks from the 2010 NHL Draft, Ryan Johansen (POR), Brett Connolly (PG), Mark Pysyk (EDM) and Quinton Howden (MJ). Defenceman Jared Cowen (SPO) is the sole returning player from Team Canada’s 2010 silver medal team and was selected in the first round of the 2009 NHL Entry Draft.

Game tickets are available at the Kamloops Blazers Box Office (250-828-3339) and the Prince Geroge CN Centre Ticketmaster Office (250-564-5585) or visit

The 2010 SUBWAY® Super Series is supported by CHL associate sponsors, Bank of Montreal and CCM. All games will be broadcast nationally on Rogers Sportsnet with the two QMJHL games shown on RDS.

For more information about the event and tickets please visit

Hockey Canada News
WHL News
Nov 2, 2005