Hockey Canada B.C. Hockey Hockey Alberta Hockey Saskatchewan Hockey Manitoba Hockey Northwestern Ontario Ontario Hockey Federation Hockey Eastern Ontario Hockey Quebec Hockey New Brunswick Hockey P.E.I. Hockey Nova Scotia Hockey Newfoundland Hockey North


Hockey Manitoba Volunteer of the Year Awards

The purpose of the Hockey Manitoba Volunteer Awards are to recognize outstanding commitment and significant contributions to the game of hockey in Manitoba.  Each year, literally thousands of volunteers are the driving force behind our great game.  Hockey Manitoba identifies ten (10) recipients annually from each of its ten (10) regions as nominated by representatives from those regions.

Additionally, Hockey Manitoba presents the Frank McKinnon Outstanding Volunteer Award annually to a volunteer that has made exemplary contributions through a long term commitment and dedication to hockey in our province. The award is selected by Hockey Manitoba’s Board of Directors.

2022 – 2023 Recipient of the Frank McKinnon Outstanding Volunteer Award – Harvey Bolton

Harvey Bolton has been involved in officiating for over 50 years. Harvey was Hockey Manitoba’s Referee-in-Chief for five years (1997-2002) and was Norman’s Referee-in-Chief for six years (1991-1997). Most recently, Harvey has served as Norman’s Regional Referee Coordinator (2017-present). Harvey was the Referee-in-Chief for Flin Flon Minor Hockey on three separate occasions and spent time as Thompson Minor Hockey’s Referee-in-Chief for four seasons (1987-1991).

Harvey’s interest in the Officiating Program started in Flin Flon watching his father work lines in Flin Flon Bomber games at the Whitney Forum.  Harvey hung around the officials dressing room during games and watched and learned from officials who would eventually become his mentors. Harvey’s first year as an official was during the 1971 -72 season when he was 14 years old working games at the Under-9 (Atom) level.

In 1979, while living in Thompson, Harvey became a Level 4 official and had the pleasure of being part of the officiating group during the first years of the newly formed Norman Junior A Hockey League. Harvey moved back to Flin Flon in 1981 and continued to officiate games in the Norman Junior A League in addition to officiating minor hockey games at all levels. Harvey worked the first SJHL regular season game in Flin Flon when the league returned in 1984.

Although Harvey has had many great personal experiences in the game, including being the Referee-in-Chief/Supervisor for national/international tournaments (2002 World Junior A Championship in Steinbach/Selkirk, 2001 National Junior A Championship in Flin Flon), it is the friendships and experiences working with young officials and watching them improve and achieve some of their career goals that has made Harvey the proudest. Harvey has had the opportunity to recommend officials for advancement and assignments to work Regional , National and international events.

Watching young officials attend their first clinics, then work their first games as officials never gets old for Harvey. Watching officials grow and develop to the point where they are officiating high performance hockey is something that Harvey truly cherishes. Harvey’s primary goal in officiating has always been to help and support officials in their careers and to encourage them to achieve their goals within or outside the game.

After about 30 years in the vending machine business, Harvey became involved in a Tourist Lodge as manager in 2000 and worked there for seven years.  In 2008, he started working for Home Hardware in Flin Flon and after 11 years the store was taken over by McMunn and Yates where he has worked for the past four years.

Harvey met his wife Karen in High School in 1975 and they were married in July of 1976. Harvey and Keren lived in Dauphin for the first few months of their marriage and then moved to Thompson in December of that year.  Harvey’s two children Melissa and Michael were born in Thompson and the family lived there for five years before returning to Flin Flon in the spring of 1981. Harvey is now the proud grandfather of Dustin and Caleb.  Although Harvey’s children never enrolled in hockey, his family has aways been his greatest supporters and have allowed and encouraged him to continue to be involved in the game that he loves.

Hockey Manitoba would like to congratulate Harvey and all of the Volunteer of the Year recipients and sincerely thank each and every volunteer for their dedication to hockey in Manitoba.

Past Frank McKinnon Outstanding Volunteer Award Winners

2021 – 22 Ashley van Aggelen
2020 – 21 Bill Whitehead
2019 – 20 Ken Gladden
2018 – 19 Peter Dueck
2017 – 18 George Ulyatt
2016 – 17 Dale Fossay
2015 – 16 Doug Orchard
2014 – 15 Brian Franklin



2021 – 22 Regional Volunteer Recognition Award Winners

Name Region
Jarrod Franklin Brandon
Greg Buydens Central Plains
Karen Smith Eastman
Kristin Murdock Interlake
Darin Mansell Norman
Will Moncrief Parkland
Shawn Dias Pembina Valley
Megan Robertson Westman South
Joyce Webinger Winnipeg
Mark Stainer Yellowhead


2020 – 21 Regional Volunteer Recognition Award Winners

Name Region
Ryan Caswell Brandon
Nancy Funk Central Plains
Ken Kutzak Eastman
Amanda Halldorson Interlake
Harvey Bolton Norman
Ryder Rodriguez Parkland
Matt Bestland Pembina Valley
Denis Decroliere Westman South
Dwayne Schmidt Winnipeg
Brent Brennand Yellowhead


2019 – 20 Regional Volunteer Recognition Award Winners

Name Region
Kris Klemick Brandon
Mike Neill Central Plains
Tracy Ouellet Eastman
Dave Underwood Interlake
Ron Larocque Norman
Wendy McDonald Parkland
Shane Froebe Pembina Valley
Ryan Kyle Westman South
Bob Capstick Winnipeg
Dan Johnson Yellowhead


2018 – 19 Regional Volunteer Recognition Award Winners

Name Region
Jason Scott Brandon
Carol Stewart Central Plains
Neal Stoesz Eastman
Alvin Amos Interlake
June Shlachetka-Monias Norman
Tannis and Dave Pulock Parkland
Barb Orchard Pembina Valley
Michael Wiseman Westman South
Pam Campbell Winnipeg
Derek Tibbatts Yellowhead


2017 – 18 Regional Volunteer Recognition Award Winners

Name Region
Terry Popadynetz Brandon
Ferdi Nelissen Central Plains
Paul Magnan Eastman
Darren Bond Interlake
Jerome Conaty Norman
David Hopfner Parkland
Greg Ens Pembina Valley
Corey Anderson Westman South
Guy Jeanson Winnipeg
Bill Brown Yellowhead