Hockey Canada B.C. Hockey Hockey Alberta Hockey Saskatchewan Hockey Manitoba Hockey Northwestern Ontario Ontario Hockey Federation Hockey Eastern Ontario Hockey Quebec Hockey New Brunswick Hockey P.E.I. Hockey Nova Scotia Hockey Newfoundland Hockey North


by Hockey Manitoba  |  November 4, 2016 5:00 pm

Calgary, AB – Western Hockey League (WHL) Commissioner Ron Robison announced today that to date a total of 355 WHL graduate players have been awarded WHL Scholarships for the fall semester of the 2016-17 academic year. The 355 WHL Scholarships awarded represent the highest total for the fall academic season in WHL history, improving upon a mark set last year.

This year, 202 of the 355 WHL Scholarship recipients are furthering their education while playing Canadian University hockey at the U Sports level. In Western Canada, 142 of these student-athletes are playing in the Canada West Conference (CWUAA), and have in many cases combined their WHL Scholarship with additional financial assistance from their institution to receive the Western Canada Premier Hockey Scholarship.

WHL Scholarship recipients are enrolled this year as full-time students at 67 different post-secondary institutions throughout North America.

Administered by the WHL Office, WHL Scholarships are solely funded by the member Clubs of the WHL. This season, WHL Clubs will contribute in excess of $2.0 million to graduates utilizing the WHL Scholarship.

Manitoban WHL graduates receiving scholarships:

Brandon University – Brandon, MB (3)
Drake Bodie – Thompson, MB – Saskatoon
Brett Kitt – Brandon, MB – Brandon
Jason Swyripa – Cochrane, AB – Brandon

University of Manitoba – Winnipeg, MB (19)
Denis Bosc – Dufresne, MB – Swift Current
Jordyn Boyd – Winnipeg, MB – Everett
Brett Brooks – Winnipeg, MB – Moose Jaw **
Jordan DePape – Winnipeg, MB – Kamloops **
Reid Gow – Kilarney, MB – Spokane
Stephen Hak – Winnipeg, MB – Red Deer
Adam Henry – Winnipeg, MB – Lethbridge **
Rene Hunter – Ebb and Flow, MB – Brandon **
Remi Laurencelle – Winnipeg, MB – Lethbridge **
Quintin Lisoway – Neepawa, MB – Brandon **
Meyer Nell – Boissevain, MB – Red Deer
Jesse Paradis – Winnipeg, MB – Saskatoon **
Justin Paulic – Thompson, MB – Moose Jaw **
Brendan Rowinski – Winnipeg, MB – Moose Jaw
Christian Stockl – Winnipeg, MB – Red Deer
Brett Stovin – Stony Mountain, MB – Saskatoon **
Brock Sutherland – Brandon, MB – Calgary
Spencer Tremblay – Winnipeg, MB – Moose Jaw
Nick Zajac – Headingley, MB – Saskatoon **

Mount Royal University – Calgary, AB (1)
Zach Franko – Winnipeg, MB – Kelowna **

University of Regina – Regina, SK (3)
Landon Cross – Brandon, MB – Kamloops
Ryan Dech – Winnipeg, MB – Edmonton
Landon Peel – Virden, MB – Regina **

University of Saskatchewan, Saskatoon, SK (1)
Michael Sofillas – Morden, MB – Lethbridge **

University of Winnipeg – Winnipeg, MB (1)
Teagan Sacher – Winnipeg, MB –Lethbridge

Acadia University – Wolfville, NS (1)
Brett Cote – Oakbank, MB – Victoria

Brock University – St. Catharines, ON (1)
Evan Morden – Swan River, MB – Everett **

University of Toronto – Toronto, ON (1)
Evan Johnson – Winnipeg, MB – Calgary **

Lethbridge College – Lethbridge, AB (1)
Alex Moodie – Winnipeg, MB – Saskatoon

North Island College – Mount Waddington, BC (1)
Carson Perreaux – Brandon, MB – Prince Albert

Red River College – Winnipeg, MB (1)
Kevin Pochuk – Winnipeg, MB – Moose Jaw

SAIT Polytechnic – Calgary, AB (1)
Sean Collins – Winnipeg, MB – Medicine Hat

“The WHL and our member Clubs are very proud to continue offering our players the most comprehensive hockey scholarship program of its kind in North America today,” stated WHL Commissioner Ron Robison. “WHL Clubs are fully committed to providing a world class experience for our players which includes the opportunity to pursue both their academic and hockey goals while playing at the top level of the Canadian amateur hockey system.”

Every player who plays in the WHL is eligible to receive the WHL Scholarship. For every season a player plays in the WHL, they receive a guaranteed, full-year WHL Scholarship including tuition, textbooks and compulsory fees to a post-secondary institution of their choice. The WHL Scholarship is a fully-guaranteed academic scholarship with no requirement to play university hockey to qualify, and the student-athlete can apply the funding to any post-secondary or career-enhancing program of his choice, including trade schools and professional career training programs.

In addition, current WHL players also receive financial assistance for enrolling in post-secondary classes while playing in the WHL, many of whom are taking online courses through Athabasca University. The WHL and Athabasca University have partnered to offer, through online and other distance education platforms, fully-accredited university courses to any WHL player interested in further pursuing post-secondary studies while playing in the WHL.

Fully funded by WHL member Clubs, all players currently playing in the WHL are encouraged to enroll in post-secondary courses. The financial assistance received for post-secondary studies while playing does not impact on the WHL Scholarship benefits a WHL player is entitled to upon graduating from the League.

CLICK HERE for a detailed list of 2016-17 WHL Scholarship recipients.

Summary: WHL Scholarships 2016-2017
Canadian Universities, Western Canada – 225
Canadian Universities, Eastern Canada – 50
Canadian Colleges and other institutions – 71
U.S. Colleges, Universities – 9
Total WHL Scholarships – 355

WHL Graduates continuing to play hockey at the elite Canadian University or College level:
Canada West Conference – 142
Ontario University Athletics /Atlantic University Sport Conferences – 45
Total – 202

Hockey Canada News
WHL News
Nov 2, 2005