Hockey Canada B.C. Hockey Hockey Alberta Hockey Saskatchewan Hockey Manitoba Hockey Northwestern Ontario Ontario Hockey Federation Hockey Eastern Ontario Hockey Quebec Hockey New Brunswick Hockey P.E.I. Hockey Nova Scotia Hockey Newfoundland Hockey North


by Hockey Manitoba  |  November 5, 2004 12:12 pm

CHARLOTTETOWN, PEI – Hockey Canada announced on Monday that Charlottetown, PEI, has been awarded the 2006 TELUS Cup, Canada’s National Midget AAA Hockey Championship. The event will take place at the Civic Centre in Charlottetown, April 24-30, 2006.

“We are delighted to announce that for the first time in history, the TELUS Cup, Canada’s National Midget Hockey Championship, will make its way east to PEI,” said Allan Morris, Officer of Hockey Canada. “The city of Charlottetown and its fans have always embraced the game of hockey and with the nucleus of an exceptional local organizing committee, Charlottetown will be well-prepared to continue the tradition of excellence and pride in hosting this event.”

The TELUS Cup is the flagship of Canada’s minor hockey system and has featured many top young Canadian players who have used the Championship as a stepping stone to a collegiate or a professional career. Over the years, the event has featured former NHL stars such as Patrick Roy (1982), Wendel Clark (1982), Ron Hextall (1980), Al MacInnis (1979) and 2004 Hockey Hall of Fame inductee Larry Murphy (1977). Other prominent alumni also include current NHLers and Team Canada 2004 World Cup of Hockey players, Dany Heatley (1998), Simon Gagné (1997), Joe Sakic (1986) and Steve Yzerman (1980).

“The PEI Hockey Association (PEIHA) is proud of the work that the host committee has accomplished to date,” said Wendell Shaw, President of the PEIHA. “The PEIHA encourages everyone to support this great event. The 2006 TELUS Cup, Canada’s National Midget Championship will mark the first time this event has ever been hosted by the PEIHA and we are very excited to be able to showcase the talents of these young men.”

“As part of our commitment to becoming Canada’s premier corporate citizen, TELUS is proud to support Hockey Canada and the 2006 TELUS Cup,” said John Mikkelsen, Assistant Vice President Enterprise Event Marketing & Community Investment. “The TELUS Cup is another demonstration of TELUS’ strong commitment to support the development of Canada’s amateur athletes from enablement to excellence, from playground to podium.”

”This is a tremendous opportunity to continue to build what is a new era in Midget AAA hockey in Charlottetown and PEI” said Wayne MacDougall, Chairperson of the Host Committee. We have proven in the past that Charlottetown can raise the bar for Hockey Canada National Championships, and look forward to doing that again for this event. We have already assembled another great team of volunteers and look forward to working with TELUS, Hockey Canada and the PEIHA on this prestigious National Championship.”

Canada’s National Midget AAA Hockey Championship, made its debut in 1979 in Winnipeg, MB. Since 1984, it has adopted a regional format with six teams taking part, a host team and five regional champions (Atlantic, Quebec, Central, West and Pacific)

The tournament opens with a round-robin round with the top four teams qualifying for the playoff round. This is followed by two crossover games (first against fourth, second against third) and the Bronze and Gold medal games on the final day. For more detailed information on the event please contact Wayne MacDougall at (902) 368-5855.

Hockey Canada News
WHL News
Nov 2, 2005