Hockey Canada B.C. Hockey Hockey Alberta Hockey Saskatchewan Hockey Manitoba Hockey Northwestern Ontario Ontario Hockey Federation Hockey Eastern Ontario Hockey Quebec Hockey New Brunswick Hockey P.E.I. Hockey Nova Scotia Hockey Newfoundland Hockey North


by Hockey Manitoba  |  December 23, 2005 12:12 pm

CALGARY, AB – Hockey Canada announced on Thursday the 13 minor hockey teams that were chosen as the winners of the “Future Team Canada” recognition program. In November, Hockey Canada partnered with the Wayne Gretzky Foundation and the Canadian Hockey Foundation to launch the second ever ‘Future Team Canada’ program that would reward and recognize thirteen minor hockey teams for the amount of heart they show rather than the amount of games they win.

In total, 231 entries where submitted to Hockey Canada. The entries consisted of a team photo, a team roster, and a short essay outlining their team’s values, special characteristics, community involvement and dedication that could make them a ‘Future Team Canada’.

The following is a listing of the thirteen regional winners that were chosen from across Canada:

Branch Team name City

Hockey North Rankin Inlet Bantam Rankin Inlet

BCAHA Lillooet Pistons Midget Lillooet

Hockey Alberta Eckville Eagles Atom A Eckville

Saskatchewan Hockey Association Pilot Butte Prairie Storm Peewee Pilot Butte

Hockey Manitoba Neepawa Hawks Peewee Neepawa

Hockey Northwestern Ontario Filane’s Falcons Novice Schreiber

Ontario Hockey Federation Toronto East Enders Ticats Peewee Toronto

Ottawa District Hockey Association Kemptville Novice Ice Cats Kemptville

Hockey Quebec Montréal Avalanche Peewee Montreal

Hockey New Brunswick Riverview Peewee AA Blues Riverview

Hockey Nova Scotia Dartmouth Whalers Atom Dartmouth

PEIHA Charlottetown Abbies Midget A Charlottetown

Hockey Newfoundland & Labrador Avalon Celtics Bantam B St. John’s

Each player on each of the 13 winning teams will receive a Team Canada jersey, gloves, stick and a hockey bag bearing the Wayne Gretzky Foundation and Hockey Canada logos. Along with this comprehensive equipment package, each team will also receive a $1,000 cash award to be used for team development activities.

“Although the thirteen winners can be commended for being selected, all 231 entries merit the recognition to be deemed winners”, said Wayne Gretzky. “The success of this program was evident by the excellent quality of the essays received and the difficulty in selecting the 13 winners. When all was said and done, the thirteen teams that were chosen are deserving of the title ‘Future Team Canada’ for their dedication and commitment to our game.”

The Wayne Gretzky Foundation believes that hockey instills many positive life skills and contributes to the physical, emotional and social growth of young people. Canada’s National Men’s and Women’s hockey teams promote many of these positive life skills such as respect, safety and fun. For more information on the Wayne Gretzky Foundation, visit .

The Canadian Hockey Foundation works with Hockey Canada to help ensure Canada remains at the forefront in the development and promotion of amateur hockey. For more information on the Canadian Hockey Foundation, visit

The outcomes of the ‘Future Team Canada” recognition program and the principles championed by the Wayne Gretzky Foundation, the Canadian Hockey Foundation, and Hockey Canada demonstrate a shared vision for the future of our game.

Hockey Canada News
WHL News
Nov 2, 2005