Hockey Canada B.C. Hockey Hockey Alberta Hockey Saskatchewan Hockey Manitoba Hockey Northwestern Ontario Ontario Hockey Federation Hockey Eastern Ontario Hockey Quebec Hockey New Brunswick Hockey P.E.I. Hockey Nova Scotia Hockey Newfoundland Hockey North


by Hockey Manitoba  |  November 14, 2003 12:12 pm

Winnipeg – Hockey Manitoba and the Saskatchewan Hockey Association are proud to announce the members for Team Western who will be competing in the Under 17 World Hockey Challenge in St. John’s, Newfoundland from December 29, 2003 to January 4, 2004.

The announcement of the final roster, which includes 11 players from Saskatchewan and 11 players from Manitoba, concludes a lengthy selection process that has been going on in both provinces. Players first take part in regional camps. The top players from each region then compete against each other in a Spring Tournament, and from there, the top players attend a Summer Camp. Eleven (11) players are then chosen from each of the Manitoba and Saskatchewan Branches to form Team Western.

Representing Manitoba on this year’s Team Western are the following players: Alex Archibald, Dane Crowley, Rick Lecuyer, Beau Prokopetz, Codey Burki, Tyler Dittmer, Brodie Dupont, Frazer McLaren, Myles Stoesz, Brock Trotter and Jordan Wilson.

Joining the Manitoba players will be the Saskatchewan contingent of: Real Cyr, Luke Brisebois, Derek Edwards, R.J. Larochelle, Kealin Wong, Chris Durand, Tanner Gillies, David Linsley, Michael Kaye, Justin Scott, and Ryan Sawka.

Team Western departs for St. John’s on December 26th. Team Western will see its first action in an exhibition game against Germany on Sunday, December 28th. Tournament play begins Tuesday, December 30th versus Russia.


For more information:

Bernie Reichardt

Director of Operations, Team Western
Ph. (204) 925-5759

Official Team Western Roster


Group A

United States

Group B


Mile One Stadium – St. John’s, NL
Mount Pearl Arena – Mount Pearl, NL
S.W. Moores Arena – Harbor Grace, NL

ATL cross-over game to be played in Mile One regardless of listed schedule.

Gm # Time

Dec. 28, 2003
Ex 15:30 ON vs SVK S. W. Moores

Ex 15:30 WST vs GER Whitbourne Arena
Ex 15:30 PAC vs USA Mile One Stadium
Ex 15:30 QC vs RUS Glacier
Ex 19:30 ATL vs FIN Mile One Stadium

Dec. 29, 2003
01 15:30 SVK vs USA Mile One Stadium
02 15:30 RUS vs PAC Glacier
03 19:30 ON vs FIN Glacier
04 18:30 Opening Ceremonies Mile One Stadium

05 19:30 QC vs ATL Mile One Stadium

Dec. 30, 2003
06 15:30 SVK vs GER Mile One Stadium
07 15:30 RUS vs WST Glacier
08 19:30 FIN vs PAC Glacier
09 19:30 ATL vs USA Mile One Stadium

Dec. 31, 2003
10 13:30 GER vs QC Mile One Stadium
11 13:30 WST vs ON Glacier
12 17:30 FIN vs RUS Glacier
13 17:30 ATL vs SVK Mile One Stadium

Jan. 1, 2004
14 15:30 USA vs QC Mile One Stadium
15 15:30 PAC vs ON Glacier
16 19:30 WST vs FIN Glacier
17 19:30 GER vs ATL Mile One Stadium

Jan. 2, 2004

18 15:30 USA vs GER Mile One Stadium
19 15:30 PAC vs WST Glacier
20 19:30 ON vs RUS Glacier
21 19:30 QC vs SVK Mile One Stadium

Jan. 3, 2004

22 12:00 A5 vs B5 Mile One Stadium
23 15:30 A4 vs B4 Glacier
24 15:30 A3 vs B3 Mile One Stadium
25 19:30 B1 vs A2 (Semi-final) Glacier
26 19:30 A1 vs B2 (Semi-final) Mile One Stadium

Jan. 4, 2004
27 TBA L24 vs L25 (Bronze Medal) Mile One Stadium
28 TBA W24 vs W25 (Gold Medal) Mile One Stadium

Hockey Canada News
WHL News
Nov 2, 2005