Hockey Canada B.C. Hockey Hockey Alberta Hockey Saskatchewan Hockey Manitoba Hockey Northwestern Ontario Ontario Hockey Federation Hockey Eastern Ontario Hockey Quebec Hockey New Brunswick Hockey P.E.I. Hockey Nova Scotia Hockey Newfoundland Hockey North


by Hockey Manitoba  |  May 1, 2018 2:35 pm

Calgary, Alta. – The Western Hockey League announced today the schedule for the 2018 Rogers WHL Championship Series for the Ed Chynoweth Cup to begin Friday, May 4, 2018.

The 2018 Rogers WHL Championship Series will feature the Eastern Conference champion Swift Current Broncos against the Western Conference champion Everett Silvertips.

The Broncos captured their fourth Eastern Conference championship and first since 1993 following a 4-2 series victory over the Lethbridge Hurricanes on Monday night. The Silvertips captured their second Western Conference championship and first since 2004 following a 4-2 series victory over the Tri-City Americans, also on Monday night.

The winner of the 2018 Rogers WHL Championship Series will advance to the 2018 Mastercard Memorial Cup, which takes place May 17-27, 2018 in Regina, Sask. The 2018 Mastercard Memorial Cup already features the WHL host Regina Pats and will also bring together the champions from the Ontario Hockey League and Quebec Major Junior Hockey League. This season marks the centennial celebration of the Canadian Hockey League’s prestigious national championship.

Manitobans in WHL Championship Series:

Pos First Name Last Name Hometown WHL Team
F Connor Dewar The Pas Everett
F Reece Vitelli Winnipeg Everett
G Joel Hofer Winnipeg Swift Current
D Noah King Winnipeg Swift Current


2018 Rogers WHL Championship Series Schedule:

Game Visitor Home Date Time
1 Everett @ Swift Current Friday, May 4 7:00
2 Everett @ Swift Current Saturday, May 5 7:00
3 Swift Current @ Everett Tuesday, May 8 7:05
4 Swift Current @ Everett Wednesday, May 9 7:05
5 * Swift Current @ Everett Friday, May 11 7:05
6 * Everett @ Swift Current Sunday, May 13 7:00
7 * Everett @ Swift Current Monday, May 14 7:00

* If necessary

About the Western Hockey League
Regarded as the world’s finest development league for junior hockey players, the Western Hockey League (WHL) head office is based in Calgary, Alberta. The WHL consists of 22 member Clubs with 17 located in Western Canada and five in the U.S. Pacific Northwest. A member of the Canadian Hockey League, the WHL has been a leading supplier of talent for the National Hockey League for over 50 years. The WHL is also the leading provider of hockey scholarships with over 350 graduates each year receiving WHL Scholarships to pursue a post-secondary education of their choice. Each season, WHL players also form the nucleus of Canada’s National Junior Hockey Team.

Hockey Canada News
WHL News
Nov 2, 2005