Hockey Canada B.C. Hockey Hockey Alberta Hockey Saskatchewan Hockey Manitoba Hockey Northwestern Ontario Ontario Hockey Federation Hockey Eastern Ontario Hockey Quebec Hockey New Brunswick Hockey P.E.I. Hockey Nova Scotia Hockey Newfoundland Hockey North


by Hockey Manitoba  |  May 6, 2005 12:12 pm

The Western Hockey League held its 16th annual Bantam draft May 5th and
among the players selected were 30 residents of the keystone province.

Sanford’s Dale Hunt was the top Manitoban chosen in the draft, going
third overall to the Prince George Cougars. Hunt, who spent this past
season with the Macdonald Lightning Bantam squad, posted totals of 75
goals and 89 assists en route to leading his team to the finals of the
Manitoba Bantam Final Four Playdowns.

In total, the draft saw six Manitobans go in the opening round, trailing
only British Columbia who had seven. Saskatchewan posted four
first-rounders while Alberta had two.

Hunt was joined in the first round by Winnipegger’s Neal Prokop, Eric
Mestery, and Brendon Rowinski, along with Travis Bobbee of Arborg and
Brandon’s Sanfred King.

The complete list of Manitoban’s chosen is as follows:

Rnd Selection Players’ Name Hometown WHL Team

1 3 Dale Hunt Sanford Prince George Cougars
1 5 Neal Prokop Winnipeg Moose Jaw Warriors
1 7 Eric Mestery Winnipeg Tri-City Americans
1 13 Brendon Rowinski Winnipeg Calgary Hitmen
1 15 Travis Bobbee Arborg Lethbridge Hurricanes
1 17 Sanfred King Brandon Brandon Wheat Kings

2 27 Tyler Schmidt Winnipeg Tri-City Americans

3 46 Paul Van De Velde Mariapolis Kamloops Blazers
3 59 Eddie Friesen Gladstone Swift Current Broncos

4 63 Jordan Mistelbacher Winnipeg Swift Current Broncos

4 73 Michael Stone Winnipeg Calgary Hitmen
4 77 Colby Robak Gilbert Plains Brandon Wheat Kings

5 83 Jared Friesen Steinbach Saskatoon Blades
5 91 Kyle Birch Winnipeg Tri-City Americans

6 107 Colin Phaneuf Winnipeg Tri-City Americans
6 117 David Toews Winnipeg Brandon Wheat Kings

7 125 Brett Mencik Winnipeg Spokane Chiefs
7 134 David Lecuyer Winnipeg Lethbridge Hurricanes
7 137 Andrew Hewett Winnipeg Brandon Wheat Kings

8 145 Kyle Stephensson Winnipeg Spokane Chiefs
8 146 Shane Wiebe Brandon Kamloops Blazers
8 148 Steph Vigier Notre Dame Prince Albert Raiders
8 152 Andrew Lefebvre Winnipeg Red Deer Rebels
8 154 Cameron Canart Reston Saskatoon Blades
8 157 Buddy Yewchyn Winnipeg Brandon Wheat Kings

9 162 Travis Hamonic Winnipeg Moose Jaw Warriors

10 182 Brett Willow Rivers Moose Jaw Warriors
10 186 Jordan Hiebert Ile Des Chenes Saskatoon Blades

11 204 Luke Lavoie Starbuck Prince George Cougars
11 209 Chris De La Londe Winnipeg Everett Silvertips

Hockey Canada News
WHL News
Nov 2, 2005