Hockey Canada B.C. Hockey Hockey Alberta Hockey Saskatchewan Hockey Manitoba Hockey Northwestern Ontario Ontario Hockey Federation Hockey Eastern Ontario Hockey Quebec Hockey New Brunswick Hockey P.E.I. Hockey Nova Scotia Hockey Newfoundland Hockey North


by Hockey Manitoba  |  May 11, 2017 12:52 pm

Winnipeg, Manitoba –  The Manitoba Aboriginal Sports and Recreation Council (MASRC) would like to congratulate both Manitoba teams as they won double gold at the 2017 National Aboriginal Hockey Championships (NAHC) in Duncan, British Columbia. The Manitoba Male and Female teams were crowned Champions on Saturday May 7, 2017.

The Female Manitoba team dominated in the tournament winning 7-0 in the final game against Team Saskatchewan. Head coach Dale Bear explains “I couldn’t have asked for a better group of girls to work with this past week. Every player contributed in their own way and played as a team from Game 1 to the Gold Medal game. The positive attitudes they had all week made our time here a memorable one. People from different provinces spoke about hardworking, disciplined and respectful our team was. Hearing those words about our young ladies was better than winning gold.”

The Male Manitoba team showcased a thriller final game against Team Ontario scoring 13:25 into the overtime period. Justin Nachbaur, a Cross Lake Band of Indians band member scored to take the Championship home to Manitoba, while Allan Kohli, another Cross Lake band member who backstopped Manitoba with 31 saves in the victory.

This is the 3rd time the Female Manitoba won gold in the championships (2009, 2010), 2nd for the male team (2002) and first time ever in the championships that both Manitoba teams were crowned champions in the same year.

The NAHC provides a forum for elite Aboriginal hockey players throughout Canada. Each region is represented by two teams, one male and one female which are both comprised of bantam and midget age athletes from across their region. The event aids in fostering cultural unity and pride and celebrates the athletic abilities of Aboriginal athletes from across the country.

The Tournament of 8 teams include:

  • Team British Columbia
  • Team Alberta
  • Team Saskatchewan
  • Team Manitoba
  • Team North (Nunavut, Northwest Territories, Yukon)
  • Team Ontario
  • Team Eastern Door and the North (Quebec)
  • Team Atlantic (New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Newfoundland & Labrador, Prince Edward Island)

The 2018 National Aboriginal Hockey Championships will be in Membertou, Nova Scotia on beautiful Cape Breton Island. Team Manitoba once again sets their eyes at the Championships.

For more details contact:
Mel Whitesell, Executive Director
Manitoba Aboriginal Sports & Recreation Council (MASRC)
T 204.925.5941
105 – 145 Pacific Avenue| Winnipeg|MB|R3B 2Z6

Hockey Canada News
WHL News
Nov 2, 2005