Hockey Canada B.C. Hockey Hockey Alberta Hockey Saskatchewan Hockey Manitoba Hockey Northwestern Ontario Ontario Hockey Federation Hockey Eastern Ontario Hockey Quebec Hockey New Brunswick Hockey P.E.I. Hockey Nova Scotia Hockey Newfoundland Hockey North

Hockey Canada announces change to age-division names

by Hockey Canada  |  November 19, 2019 10:06 am

CALGARY, Alta. – At its Winter Congress this past weekend in Montreal, Hockey Canada membership approved a regulation change proposed by the board of directors to revise the naming of the age divisions used in minor hockey across Canada.

Following the recommendations of a task team, the age divisions will become U7, U9, U11 through to U21, impacting all minor and female hockey programs under the Hockey Canada umbrella. The change was initiated by Hockey Canada and its 13 provincial and territorial members and will be implemented nationally with their input and support for the 2020-21 season.

2014 and before 6 and under Under-7 (U7)
2012-2013 7-8 Under-9 (U9)
2010-2011 9-10 Under-11 (U11)
2008-2009 11-12 Under-13 (U13)
2006-2007 13-14 Under-15 (U15)
2003-2004-2005 15-16-17 Under-18 (U18)
2000-2001-2002 18-19-20 Under-21 (U21)

“We believe everyone should feel welcome in the game and in our on-going effort to make hockey more inclusive, the Members at the Hockey Canada Annual Meeting determined that the names of our age Divisions will change,” said Michael Brind’Amour, chair of the Hockey Canada Board of Directors. “Following a comprehensive review, we believe this change will simplify the system for families who may be new to the game. The new age Division names will be implemented for next season.”

For more information on Hockey Canada and its minor hockey programs, please visit or

Hockey Canada News
WHL News
Nov 2, 2005