Hockey Canada B.C. Hockey Hockey Alberta Hockey Saskatchewan Hockey Manitoba Hockey Northwestern Ontario Ontario Hockey Federation Hockey Eastern Ontario Hockey Quebec Hockey New Brunswick Hockey P.E.I. Hockey Nova Scotia Hockey Newfoundland Hockey North

Ian Heather & Sheldon Lanchbery recognized at Hockey Canada AGM

by Hockey Manitoba  |  June 1, 2010 4:03 pm

MONTRÉAL, Que. – Hockey Canada honoured nine community leaders from across the country during an awards banquet Friday night, held as part of the governing body’s 91st annual general meeting at the Westin Montréal.

The award winners included André Ricard of Trois-Rivières, Que., who has been named the 2010 Outstanding Volunteer. For 11 seasons, Ricard has been president of Hockey Mauricie, which oversees 17 minor hockey associations, as well as 22 tournaments and four festivals annually. He has also helped host and promote both national and international events, including the 2001 National Women’s Under-18 Challenge and the 2008 IIHF World Championship, among many other accomplishments within the hockey world.

The nine award winners are as follows:

Female Hockey Breakthrough Award (outstanding contribution to advancing female hockey)

– Julianne Fuller (Inuvik, N.W.T.)

Liz MacKinnon Award (special contributions of a Hockey Canada volunteer’s spouse)

– Rose Delparte (Calgary, Alta.)

Hal Lewis Award (Hockey Canada staff person who best exemplifies the spirit of the organization)

– Lesley Reddon (Calgary, Alta.)

Gordon Juckes Award (outstanding contribution to the development of amateur hockey at the national level)

– Harley Hotchkiss (Calgary, Alta.)

Officiating Award (outstanding contribution to officiating at the branch and national level)

– Ian Heather (Winnipeg, Man./Hockey Manitoba)

Hockey Canada Order of Merit – Atlantic (an individual who has served amateur hockey faithfully)

– Joe Maynard (Flatrock, N.L../Hockey Newfoundland and Labrador)

Hockey Canada Order of Merit – Central (an individual who has served amateur hockey faithfully)

– Don Yeck (Belmont, Ont./Ontario Hockey Federation)

Hockey Canada Order of Merit – West (an individual who has served amateur hockey faithfully)

– Sheldon Lanchbery (Deloraine, Man./Hockey Manitoba)

Outstanding Volunteer Award (outstanding volunteer work in amateur hockey and Hockey Canada)

– André Ricard (Trois-Rivières, Que./Hockey Québec)

Nominations for all awards were submitted by Hockey Canada’s 13 member branches and the winners were chosen by Hockey Canada’s officers of the board, or the appropriate Hockey Canada council. The success of minor hockey associations in Canada depends heavily on volunteers and Hockey Canada is pleased to recognize the individuals who contribute greatly to the game of hockey across the country.

More than 250 representatives from regional and provincial hockey associations are in Montréal for Hockey Canada’s 91st AGM, which started Thursday, May 27 and wraps up Sunday, May 30.

For more information on Hockey Canada’s annual general meeting and full biographies of all of the award winners, go to

Hockey Canada News
WHL News
Nov 2, 2005