Hockey Canada B.C. Hockey Hockey Alberta Hockey Saskatchewan Hockey Manitoba Hockey Northwestern Ontario Ontario Hockey Federation Hockey Eastern Ontario Hockey Quebec Hockey New Brunswick Hockey P.E.I. Hockey Nova Scotia Hockey Newfoundland Hockey North


by Hockey Manitoba  |  April 13, 2016 6:30 pm

Calgary, AB – The Western Hockey League announced today that Tanner Kaspick (Brandon Wheat Kings / Brandon, MB) and Tristen Pfeifer (Everett Silvertips / Phoenix, AZ) have been nominated for the Daryl K. (Doc) Seaman Trophy as the WHL’s Scholastic Player of the Year.

Eastern Conference – Tanner Kaspick (Brandon Wheat Kings / Brandon, MB)

Kaspick had a productive season on a powerful Brandon team in 2015-16, notching 31 points (13g-18a) in just 53 games. The Brandonite completed his first semester of Grade 12 this year with a remarkable 96% average, and has since upped his average to 98% in the second semester. Kaspick also currently holds a 100% grade in Chemistry 12. Ranked 79th amongst North American skaters by Central Scouting for the upcoming 2016 NHL Draft, Kaspick has completed three advanced placement courses and is described by his teachers as a focused student. The Wheat Kings selected Kaspick 25th overall in the 2013 WHL Bantam Draft.

Western Conference – Tristen Pfeifer (Everett Silvertips / Phoenix, AZ)

A product of Phoenix, Arizona, Pfeifer recently completed his second WHL season patrolling the blue line for the Silvertips. In 60 games this season, Pfeifer picked up 13 points (2g-11a) to go along with a plus-13 rating and 37 penalty minutes. Remarkably, the 19-year-old has nearly completed two years of post-secondary education through Grand Canyon University and has maintained a 4.0 GPA in the process which is among the top 20 percent of all GCU students. Pfeifer hopes to have a post-secondary degree under his belt as early as next year.

WHL Clubs provide the opportunity for all current WHL players to enroll in post-secondary courses while still in the League in addition to the WHL Scholarship benefits they receive upon graduating from the WHL.

The Daryl K. (Doc) Seaman Trophy will be presented at the 2016 WHL Awards on May 4th in Calgary, AB.

Daryl K. (Doc) Seaman has been a pioneer in promoting higher education and hockey. For many years Doc Seaman has been a staunch supporter of the efforts of Hockey Canada and the Western Hockey League to ensure all players are able to combine education with hockey.

As well, he has been a great promoter of the City of Calgary, as evidenced by his efforts to bring the Atlanta Flames to Calgary to become the beloved Calgary Flames of the National Hockey League.

Due to Seaman’s support for programs that promote the combining of education and hockey, and the Western Hockey League’s education program in particular, the WHL chose to name this Scholastic Player of the Year Award in honour of Doc Seaman in 1996.

The player selected as the top student-athlete in the WHL will be presented the Daryl K. (Doc) Seaman Trophy.

Hockey Canada News
WHL News
Nov 2, 2005