Hockey Canada B.C. Hockey Hockey Alberta Hockey Saskatchewan Hockey Manitoba Hockey Northwestern Ontario Ontario Hockey Federation Hockey Eastern Ontario Hockey Quebec Hockey New Brunswick Hockey P.E.I. Hockey Nova Scotia Hockey Newfoundland Hockey North

Mark Stone named CHL Sportsman of the Year

by Hockey Manitoba  |  May 26, 2012 11:31 pm

Shawinigan, QC – Two Winnipeg natives were among the big winners Saturday night at the MasterCard Memorial Cup as the Canadian Hockey League presented its 2011-12 Awards.

While Brendan Shinnimin of the Tri-City Americans captured the CHL's CCM Player of the Year Award, Brandon Wheat Kings' captain Mark Stone took home the FRAM Sportsmanlike Player of the Year Trophy.

A member of Canada's bronze medal winning team at the World Junior Hockey Championships this past December, Stone finished second in league scoring this season in this, his fourth year in the Western Hockey League. As well, he signed his first National Hockey League contract with the Ottawa Senators and made his NHL playoff debut in the team's opening round playoff series against the New York Rangers.

Winners were presented with their awards at Centre des Arts in Shawinigan as part of the 2012 MasterCard Memorial Cup festivities.

2011-12 CHL Award Winners:

FRAM Sportsman of the Year – Mark Stone (Brandon Wheat Kings):
The 19-year-old from Winnipeg, MB, Mark Stone netted finished second in WHL scoring with a career-high 41 goals and 82 assists for 123 points this season while drawing just 22 minutes in penalties in 66 games. Stone, an Ottawa Senators prospect, drew minor penalties in just 10 of the 66 games he played and picked up more than one minor infraction in a single game just once all season, despite playing heavy minutes for the Wheat Kings. Also considered for the award was Zach O'Brien of the Acadie-Bathurst Titan, and Brandon Saad of the Saginaw Spirit.

Dodge Top Scorer of the Year – Brendan Shinnimin (Tri-City Americans):

Home Hardware Humanitarian Player of the Year – Vincent Barnard (Quebec Remparts):

Subway Scholastic Player of the Year – Jonathan Brunelle (Cape Breton Screaming Eagles):

Old Dutch Brian Kilrea Coach of the Year – Jim Hiller (Tri-City Americans):

BMO Rookie of the Year – Mikhail Grigorenko (Quebec Remparts):

Vaughn Goaltender of the Year – Michael Houser (London Knights):

Post Foods Canada Defenceman of the Year – Dougie Hamilton (Niagara IceDogs):

CCM Player of the Year – Brendan Shinnimin (Tri-City Americans):
BrendanShinnimin enjoyed an excellent season for the Americans, recording 58 goals and 76 assists for 134 points along with a +45 rating in 69 games leading the CHL in scoring while helping the Ams win the WHL's U.S. Division and Western Conference regular-season titles. The 5'10", 175-lb pivot finished second among all WHL players with 58 goals and third among WHL players with 76 assists. Additionally, Shinnimin finished with 21 power play markers and second with seven shorthanded tallies. The 21-year-old overage player signed an entry-level contract with the Phoenix Coyotes late in the season. Also considered for the award was Yanni Gourde of the Victoriaville Tigres, and Michael Houser of the London Knights.

Hockey Canada News
WHL News
Nov 2, 2005