Hockey Canada B.C. Hockey Hockey Alberta Hockey Saskatchewan Hockey Manitoba Hockey Northwestern Ontario Ontario Hockey Federation Hockey Eastern Ontario Hockey Quebec Hockey New Brunswick Hockey P.E.I. Hockey Nova Scotia Hockey Newfoundland Hockey North

Mary Ellen Clark (Neepawa) named RBC Local Hockey Leader

by Hockey Manitoba  |  May 12, 2010 1:36 pm

TORONTO, ON – RBC Insurance, with support from Hockey Canada and the Hockey Hall of Fame, today recognized Canada’s most dedicated behind the scenes hockey volunteers as part of the annual RBC Local Hockey Leaders® program. This year’s 14 winners – one representing each Hockey Canada branch and an RBC employee winner – hail from Fort Simpson, N.T. to Durrell, N.L.

“We’re proud to celebrate these exceptional individuals who generously give their time to enrich our nation’s game in communities from coast to coast,” said Neil Skelding, president and CEO of RBC Insurance. “Hockey means so much to Canada and this is our opportunity to say thank you to those who make it happen.”

The 2010 RBC Local Hockey Leaders receive $10,000 towards a registered hockey cause in their community and a signed Team Canada jersey. The winners will also be flown to Toronto for a special ceremony on June 16, where their efforts will be recognized in a permanent display at the Hockey Hall of Fame. In addition, each winner will be celebrated in their hometown, as a banner recognizing their achievement will be raised in their local arena.

2010 RBC Local Hockey Leaders:

Hockey North – Owen Rowe Fort Simpson, N.T.

BC Hockey – Helga Steenhof Smithers, B.C.

Hockey Alberta – Wanda Schuba Edmonton, Alta.

Saskatchewan Hockey Association – Bob Fawcett Saskatoon, Sask.

Hockey Manitoba – Mary Ellen Clark Neepawa, Man.

Ontario Hockey Federation – Steve Sanderson Plattsville, Ont.

Hockey Northwestern Ontario – Doug Novak Kenora, Ont.

Ottawa District Hockey Association – Gord Powell Almonte, Ont.

Hockey Quebec – Peter Jacobs Kahnawake, Que.

Hockey New Brunswick – Marc Dube St-Andre, N.B.

Hockey Nova Scotia – Steve Clayton Bridgetown, N.S.

Hockey PEI – Joanne Wallace O’Leary, P.E.I.

Hockey Newfoundland & Labrador – Craig Clarke Durrell, N.L.

RBC’s Own Local Hockey Leader – Donna Taylor Craik, Sask.

Full biographies on all 14 winners can be found at

A panel including Neil Skelding, Olympic gold medalist Cheryl Pounder, National Sledge Team captain Jean Labonté, hockey legend Ron Ellis, Hockey Canada chairman of the board Ken Corbett and other Hockey Canada officials selected winners from hundreds of nominations submitted through the program website.

The RBC Local Hockey Leaders contest inspired hundreds of nominations from cities and towns from all corners of the country. Hard work, dependability, impact and leadership were among the criteria considered during the evaluation of submissions.

“Volunteers are the lifeblood of Canadian hockey – without them there would be no game, no place for children to live their dreams, and RBC Insurance deserves a big thank you for their support of these volunteers,” said Bob Nicholson, president and CEO of Hockey Canada. “The RBC Local Hockey Leaders program has recognized more than 100 tremendous hockey volunteers, giving more than 100 communities the opportunity to better their hockey environments.”

Over the past seven years RBC Insurance has awarded more than $700,000 to grassroots hockey initiatives across Canada through the RBC Local Hockey Leaders program. Grants from the 2009 RBC Local Hockey Leaders program went towards a new score clock in Moosomin, SK, new goalie equipment in Grand Falls-Windsor, NL, subsidizing travel expenses for a special needs ice hockey tournament in St. Catharines, ON, and many other worthy initiatives.

For more information and biographies on all of the RBC Local Hockey Leaders, please visit

Hockey Canada News
WHL News
Nov 2, 2005