Hockey Canada B.C. Hockey Hockey Alberta Hockey Saskatchewan Hockey Manitoba Hockey Northwestern Ontario Ontario Hockey Federation Hockey Eastern Ontario Hockey Quebec Hockey New Brunswick Hockey P.E.I. Hockey Nova Scotia Hockey Newfoundland Hockey North

St. Malo Warriors awarded 2013 Western Canada Jr.B Championship

by Hockey Manitoba  |  March 7, 2012 8:10 pm

Hockey Manitoba is pleased to award the 2013 Western Canada Junior B Championship “Keystone Cup” to the St. Malo Warriors.

The Keystone Cup is a 6 team competition and brings together the Provincial champions from across Northwestern Ontario, Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta and BC, along with the host team. It is held in April each season, over a 4 day period, and is an intense round robin tournament with the top 4 teams advancing to the Gold and Bronze medal games.

St. Malo is proud to host the tournament. The St. Malo Warriors have a proud and rich tradition in the Keystone Junior B league, and last represented Manitoba at the 2009 Keystone Cup in Thunder Bay, ON, and were the silver medallist at the 1998 Keystone Cup.

After hearing of their selection, Ralph Collette, Head Coach & GM of the St. Malo Warriors, “The St. Malo Warriors are very honoured and pleased to be awarded the 2013 Western Canada Junior B Hockey Championship.” Collette further commented that, “our organization has been part of 5 Western Championships and feel that with our experience, we will have lots to offer.”

The St. Malo host committee plans to showcase the KJHL and the area’s rich hockey history, along with its French and Metis culture.

The first Keystone Cup took place in 1983 in Portage La Prairie, Manitoba and was won by the Selkirk Fishermen. Manitoba last hosted the Keystone Cup in 2007 in Selkirk. The Sherwood Park Knights won gold, with the KJHL’s Norway House NorthStars earning a silver medal.

Hockey Canada News
WHL News
Nov 2, 2005