Hockey Canada B.C. Hockey Hockey Alberta Hockey Saskatchewan Hockey Manitoba Hockey Northwestern Ontario Ontario Hockey Federation Hockey Eastern Ontario Hockey Quebec Hockey New Brunswick Hockey P.E.I. Hockey Nova Scotia Hockey Newfoundland Hockey North


by Hockey Manitoba  |  October 27, 2017 11:45 am

WINNIPEG – Hockey Manitoba is pleased to announce the leadership group for U18 Team Manitoba.  Ashley McFadden (Winnipeg, MB) will captain Team MB at the upcoming National Women’s Under-18 Championship taking place from November 1 – 5 in Quebec City, QC.

McFadden is currently playing with St. Mary’s Academy in the Canadian Sport School Hockey League.  This will be Ashley’s 2nd year competing with Team MB at Nationals, last year being her first when Nationals was held in Regina, SK.  McFadden comments: “being named captain of Team MB is a huge honour… I am proud to have a great group of leaders alongside me. I believe I speak for the entire team when I say we are very excited to get things underway in Quebec City.”

Serving as assistant captains will be Sarah Dennehy (Winnipeg, MB), Julia McLennan (Winnipeg, MB) and Alexi Cheveldayoff (Winnipeg, MB).  Dennehy and Cheveldayoff  are both currently playing with St. Mary’s Academy (CSSHL) while McLennan is currently playing with the Winnipeg Avros (MFMHL). Head Coach, Ashley Van Aggelen comments “I really feel like the players in our leadership group this year each bring a different dynamic to the team… we feel that the captains we have picked will continue to create a family environment where all players buy in and enjoy the experience while playing with a no quit attitude.”

Team MB will hit the ice Monday October 30th in Quebec City, QC for an exhibition game versus Team Atlantic. The National Women’s U-18 Championship is set to open November 1st with Team MB opening their schedule vs Host Team Quebec at 7:30PM (ET).

U-18 Team Manitoba Captain History

2016 Ashton Bell (Deloraine)
2015  Nationals
4 Assistant Captains

  • Jalyn Elmes (Brandon)
  • Kayla Friesen (Winnipeg)
  • Ryleigh Houston (Winnipeg)
  • Sheridan Oswald (Winnipeg)

2015 Canada Games

  • Randi Marcon (Winnipeg)

2013 Steph Grossi (Winnipeg)
2012 Haille Krzyzaniak (Neepawa)

Follow Team Manitoba’s results daily by visiting the Team Manitoba Headquarters online at Manitoba Headquarters will be the official landing point for all Team Manitoba information and event links including rosters, schedules, game summaries, webcast links, and more.

For more information about the Hockey Manitoba Program of Excellence please visit Hockey Manitoba is pleased to recognize Canad Inns and CCM Hockey as Official Partners of the Program of Excellence, along with Gatorade as the Official Sport Drink of Hockey Manitoba.


Hockey Canada News
WHL News
Nov 2, 2005