Hockey Canada B.C. Hockey Hockey Alberta Saskatchewan Hockey Association Hockey Manitoba Hockey Northwestern Ontario Ontario Hockey Federation Hockey Eastern Ontario Hockey Quebec Hockey New Brunswick Hockey P.E.I. Hockey Nova Scotia Hockey Newfoundland Hockey North

Former Hockey Manitoba President Brian Franklin awarded Hockey Canada Order of Merit (Western)

by Hockey Canada  |  May 11, 2021 10:00 am

It may come as no surprise that someone who served his home community of Deloraine, Manitoba, for over a decade as mayor would also volunteer for his hockey community at the same time. But what is truly remarkable about Brian Franklin’s commitment to the game, is its longevity – 50 years and counting.

An instrumental force in establishing the provincial Midget AAA league in 1985, Brian was involved with the league and development of top-level U18 players until 1996. Even before the creation of the league, however, Brian was involved with Hockey Manitoba, serving as a board member from 1982 until 2020. From 2007-12, he was Member president and served on the Hockey Canada Board of Directors.

Brian’s work in the education system, especially as a principal, gave him the tools to lead with confidence and inspire others to exceed their own expectations. He continues to serve Hockey Manitoba as a mentor and remains committed to the value of volunteers at all levels of the game.

As a volunteer himself for over five decades, Brian Franklin’s unwavering support for the game has only bettered hockey for those in Deloraine and across Manitoba.

Hockey Canada News
WHL News
Nov 2, 2005